Hawks Bay Wins Historic Darwin Cup 2012 – Results

August 7, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

Hawks Bay Wins Historic Darwin Cup 2012 – Results

Neil Dyer’s gallant old galloper Hawks Bay defied the odds on Monday night to win the 2012 Darwin Cup for the second year on the trot, the seven-year-old breaking a weight carrying record to do so.

After finishing second in both the 2009 and 2010 editions of the Northern Territory’s premier race, 12 months ago the Black Hawk gelding carried an imposing 62kg to victory in the $185,000 Carlton Mid Darwin Cup (2000m).

Last year they put a minimum four lengths on their rivals, but yesterday there was only a nose in it as they recorded back-to-back Darwin Cup wins in a courageous effort thanks in part to a masterful ride by jockey Steven Arnold.

Having been allocated a massive 64.5kg even their Kyneton-based trainer had doubts leading into the Darwin Cup, doubts that weren’t relinquished until the final stride.

After a tight two horse battle to the line with the $3.10 favourite Bolton over the final 150-metres, Hawks Bay ($9) eventually won by the bob of their head – their sixth win at the Fannie Bay track.

Finishing off the winning Darwin Cup trifecta was then Bolton’s Metric Mile winning stablemate Sheahan ($5.50) who finished a distant six and a quarter lengths off the winner.

While the crowd and Hawks Bays’ connections were kept on the edge of their seat throughout, Arnold had the most nail biting ride of all.

“I thought I was gone, I knew he would fight but I thought the other horse just had a bit more momentum than me,” Arnold said after the win.

“He just fought his heart out. I didn’t know if I got the bob, but I’m pretty thrilled.

“I had him in a pretty good spot and he travelled good in the race.

“Nothing was taking me into it so I had to come out and roll with the big weight.

“I knew I would be vulnerable at the 100-metres but when Bolton got up to him he just fought his heart out.”

Dyer was also thrilled with the Darwin Cup result, one he said was well-deserved after Hawks Bay’s determination on race day and hard work in the lead-up.

“This is very satisfying,” Dyer said.

“We’ve had problems (this prep), we’ve been working on him until the last minute to try and get him here and when you do all that and it comes off, it’s very satisfying.

“I thought it was gallant and on the line I thought we might have just got beat, I wouldn’t have been disappointed anyway because the horse just tried his guts out.”

“Fantastic ride by Steven.  It was just a bob of the heads and we got the bob in at the right time.”

Check out the full Darwin Cup 2012 results in the table below.

When it comes to having your next punt on the races make sure you lock in a better price by betting online with bookmaker.com.au, the sportsbook offering all new customers a $300 bonus welcome bet when they sign-up, deposit and quote the codeword BONUSBET!

2012 Darwin Cup Results & Finishing Order


Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 1 HAWKS BAY Neil Dyer Steven Arnold 1 64.5kg $9
2 3 BOLTON (NZ) Stephen Brown Stephen Baster 0.1L 5 57kg $3.10F
3 6 SHEAHAN Stephen Brown Scott Hillebrand 6.4L 6 55.5kg $5.50
4 11 SEA SKYE (USA) Bevan Laming Ms Jan Cameron 8.9L 10 54kg $19
5 13e CLUB LIQUID Dick Leech Ben Hoppo 9.1L 8 54kg $31
6 7 GLARE Louis Paech Carl Spry 10.1L 7 54.5kg $4.80
7 10 INTO THE SUN Malcolm Carson Michael L Evans 11.4L 2 54kg $51
8 4 PALMYRA BOY Neil Dyer Adam Nicholls 11.9L 3 57kg $51
9 5 SYREON Jason Manning Ms Vanessa Arnott 15.4L 9 57kg $18
10 9 I AM MAGIC Kerry Petrick Phillip Crich 17.2L 11 54kg $21
11 8 THE THIRD BASEMAN Malcolm Carson Dom Tourneur 21.2L 4 54.5kg $17
14e GRANZIG Mick Whittle 0
2 BLACKBRIAR Melinda Boothby Paul Shiers 0
12 THE RUFFIAN Sheila Arnold Jason Maskiell 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field