Darwin Cup 2012 Final Field & Barrier Draw

August 3, 2012

Darwin Cup 2012 Final Field & Barrier Draw

The Northern Territory’s premier race is this Monday’s 2012 Darwin Cup, the final field and barrier draw for which has now been released.

Due to bring a bumper nine-race program to a close at Fannie Bay Racecourse at 5:35pm (local time) on Monday, this year’s edition of the $185,000 Carlton Mid Darwin Cup (2000m) has drawn a full field of 12 starters plus two emergencies.

Heading the Darwin Cup 2012 field and weights is defending champion Hawks Bay who will have to break their own weight-carrying record which they set last year to win again.

Twelve months ago Neil Dyer’s honest galloper raced in their third straight Darwin Cup, Hawks Bay having run second in both 2009 and 2010, this time carrying a hefty 62kg to an ultra-impressive four length victory.

After back-to-back Cup wins over 1300m and 1600m at Fannie Bay earlier this year Hawks Bay was last seen running a disappointing sixth when failing to defend their title in the Metric Mile last weekend.

They are set to carry 64.5kg on Monday and could find themselves caught in traffic from their inside barrier one draw.

While the weights are against them Hawks Bay is sure to be the sentimental favourite with the locals as a regular visitor to the NT.

Following Hawks Bay in the weights with 59kg is then the Melinda Boothby-trained Blackbriar drawn nicely in gate six with Paul Shiers to ride.

This veteran Desert Sun seven-year-old has been in good form this winter winning the QBE Cup (1200m) three back before running third and fourth respectively behind Hawks Bay in the Roant Gold Cup and the Chief Minister’s Cup.

Meanwhile there are three last-start winners engaged in the Darwin Cup this year with Stephen Brown’s local Zabeel five-year-old Sheahan (barrier nine) who attracted a 1.5kg penalty for their Metric Mile victory last Saturday which was their second on the trot over the Fannie Bay mile, Buntine Handicap winner over 1900m by 5.5 lengths on July 21 Glare (barrier 10) who like Sheahan will be out for their third straight win, and the Malcolm Carson-trained Alice Springs galloper The Third Baseman (barrier five).

Other notable hopefuls include Metric Mile runner-up Bolton, smart seven-year-old stayer Into The Sun, Cranbourne raider Sea Skye and The Ruffian over from Geelong.

Check out the full 2012 Darwin Cup field, weights, jockeys and barriers in the table below.

Our No. 1 recommended online bookie bookmaker.com.au are due to release their Darwin Cup betting odds shortly so make sure you’re ready by opening your account with them today.

Remember to quote the exclusive promo code BONUSBET when you do which will also unlock a juicy $300 bonus bet for you to use on a race of your choice – but hurry this is for a limited time only at bookmaker.com.au!

2012 Darwin Cup Final Field & Barrier Draw

Fannie Bay Race 9 – 5:35pm – 06/08/2012

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 x480072116 HAWKS BAY Neil Dyer Steven Arnold 1 64.5kg 111
2 72154×9134 BLACKBRIAR Melinda Boothby Paul Shiers 6 59kg 96
3 64811×9522 BOLTON (NZ) Stephen Brown Stephen Baster 7 57kg 91
4 x707103088 PALMYRA BOY Neil Dyer Adam Nicholls 4 57kg 91
5 40x000x657 SYREON Jason Manning Ms Vanessa Arnott 12 57kg 91
6 x3133x4811 SHEAHAN Stephen Brown Scott Hillebrand 9 55.5kg inc. 1.5kg pen. 88
7 621421×011 GLARE Louis Paech Carl Spry 10 54.5kg 86
8 8×038471 THE THIRD BASEMAN Malcolm Carson Dom Tourneur 5 54.5kg 86
9 11×1242234 I AM MAGIC Kerry Petrick Phillip Crich 14 54kg 83
10 4×94631883 INTO THE SUN Malcolm Carson Michael L Evans 2 54kg 82
11 x951247814 SEA SKYE (USA) Bevan Laming Ms Jan Cameron 13 54kg 81
12 116x74x742 THE RUFFIAN Sheila Arnold Jason Maskiell 8 54kg 81
13e 8150×33063 CLUB LIQUID Dick Leech Ben Hoppo 11 54kg 80
14e 6415551608 GRANZIG Mick Whittle 3 54kg 78

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

Waller contemplating blinkers ...

Waller contemplating blinkers for 2018 Queensland Oaks favourite Youngstar

Trainer Chris Waller will decide before final acceptance time on Wednesday...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field