Writer Tops 2012 Townsville Cup Nominations

Rockhampton gelding Writer heads a 24-horse list of nominations for Saturday’s $100,000 2012 Townsville Cup (2100m).

Trained by David Stafford, the rising seven-year-old scored the biggest victory of his career last month when taking out the $100,000 Rockhampton Cup in his home town.

A son of Hemingway, the successful country gelding backed up his victory with a solid fourth in the $50,000 Mackay Cup and will be out to add to his 14 career victories this weekend.

One of the top local hopes is veteran gelding I Got One who will be lining up for his 58th start on Saturday..

But despite being so heavily-raced, the rising eight-year-old has continued to taste success and most recently won the Magnetic Mile Handicap in Townsville.

Fellow Townsville-based gelding Cash Attack finished runner-up to I Got One last start and gets a chance to make amends for two disappointing efforts in the Rockhampton and Mackay Cups.

The John Erichsen-trained gelding finished towards the back half of the field in both events and is chasing his first victory since November last year.

A veteran of 41 starts, Cash Attack has won 10 times and placed on another nine occasions with the highlight victory coming in the 2010 Innisfail Cup.

Stuart Kendrick, trainer of Golden Slipper fourth place-getter Doubtfilly, will have one entrant with the in-form Flybefree.

The rising seven-year-old has been in sensational form of late, finishing a worst of third in his four most recent starts which includes a five-length victory in the Townsville Bulletin Winter Cup on June 30.

Rockhampton six-year-old Seafight also heads into the race in good form, winning the Jupiters Townsville Handicap by a dominant three lengths last Saturday.

Other horses nominated for the Townsville Cup include Olivia Cairns-trained pair Bear In There and Popnae and Brian Smith’s last-start winner Clangor.

Betting will open later this week for the Townsville Cup and the best place to back a winner is bookmaker.com.au.

Enter the code BONUSBET when signing up today to take advantage of their sensational $300 bonus bet offer!

Townsville Cup 2012 – Nominations

Horse Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 WRITER David Stafford 4 59kg 90
2 CASH ATTACK John Erichsen 5 55.5kg 83
3 I GOT ONE Terry Butts 1= 55.5kg 83
4 ATTALLUS Alby Molino 19= 54kg 74.5
5 BARAMUL BULLET Greg Wehlow 17= 54kg 75
6 BEAR IN THERE Olivia Cairns 23 54kg 70
7 CLANGOR Brian Smith 16 54kg 76.5
8 COMMON OBJECTIVE Roy Chillemi 6 54kg 80.5
9 DAMASHQUI Bradley Furber 12 54kg 79
10 DIAMONDCOWBOY Darren Symons 13= 54kg 78
11 FLYBEFREE Stuart Kendrick 1= 54kg 74.5
12 GOLD COAST GIRL Matthew Tremble 7= 54kg 80
13 INTERTHEBLACK Lyle Rowe 9= 54kg 79.5
14 JUST A TOUCH Jay Morris 9= 54kg 79.5
15 MACSQUIRE David Peoples 24 54kg 66
16 MOB RULE Errol Sewell 17= 54kg 75
17 OLD MATES ACT Darren Symons 7= 54kg 80
18 OUR BOY LUKAS (NZ) John Manzelmann 9= 54kg 79.5
19 POPNAE Olivia Cairns 19= 54kg 74.5
20 RONTGEN Ben Williams 13= 54kg 78
21 SEAFIGHT Jared Wehlow 1= 54kg 74.5
22 SIR PEPPERCORN Jim Swift 19= 54kg 74.5
23 TIMECALL (NZ) Stuart Kendrick 15 54kg 77
24 TRIPITZ Trevor Rowe 22 54kg 73