VRC Winter Championship Final 2012 – Final Field Announced

July 4, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

VRC Winter Championship Final 2012 – Final Field Announced

A full field of 16 horses has been announced to contest Saturday’s Listed $150,000 2012 VRC Winter Championship Series Final (1600m) at Flemington.

Headlining the list is Peter Moody-trained mare There’s Only One who has been in excellent form this campaign.

The talented four-year-old finished runner-up first-up at Caulfield before scoring back-to-back victories in the Winter Championship Handicap at Sale and the Winter Championship Heat at Flemington on June 23.

A daughter of Testa Rossa, There’s Only One boasts a highly promising record of eight wins from 16 starts and has collected more than $270,000 in prize money.

To continue her winning run, the four-year-old mare will have to overcome a wide draw after receiving barrier 16.

Fellow Moody-trained horse Doubtful Jack has also been included in the field and is coming off a fourth-place effort to his stablemate in the Winter Championship Heat on June 23.

Also heading into the race in excellent form is Chosen To Fly who will come from one barrier inside (15) There’s Only One.

The four-year-old produced back-to-back victories in Winter Championship Heats at Flemington on May 19 and June 9.

Drawing more favourably in barrier eight is New Zealand-bred gelding Lord Pyrus who has placed from all three starts this preparation.

Fellow New Zealand-bred gelding Menados faces a step up in class but the lightly-raced youngster has shown plenty of promise.

Trained by Nigel Blackiston at Flemington, Menados has won four times from six starts and is chasing a third consecutive win in Saturday’s feature.

Last year’s winner Glaneuse returns to defend his title but the six-year-old gelding will have to turn around a recent spell of bad form.

The Michael O’Leary-trained galloper has not won since he took out the event last year and has finished in the back half of the field in his two most recent starts.

Other horses included in the Winter Championship field include last-start winners Gallileo Gold and Sussuro and Robbie Griffiths-trained Gail.

When markets open later this week for the Winter Championship, be sure to visit bookmaker.com.au to access excellent odds.

Innovators of Quickbet technology – the fastest way to bet – bookmaker.com.au is Australian owned and operated and offers a $300 bonus bet to new customers!

VRC Winter Championship Final 2012 – Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 137282×411 CHOSEN TO FLY Colin & Cindy Alderson Danny Nikolic 15 60kg 96
2 090249×223 LORD PYRUS (NZ) Judy Mawer Ms Sally Wynne 8 60kg 96
3 3x3606x934 DOUBTFUL JACK Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 18 59kg 94
4 41269×6300 GLANEUSE Michael O’Leary Ms Linda Meech 9 59kg 94
5 x9626152x5 YULALONA Peter Snowden James Winks 13 59kg 94
6 1x1484x211 THERE’S ONLY ONE Peter G Moody Daniel Stackhouse 16 58.5kg 97
7 8311×26184 GOLD SAND Lee & Shannon Hope Damien Oliver 7 57.5kg 91
8 0x52551513 GAIL Robbie Griffiths Nicholas Hall 4 55kg 89
9 038217×353 SOPHROSYNE Michael Moroney Glen Boss 12 55kg 86
10 65×0502625 STONEBLACK Robert Smerdon Chris Symons 11 55kg 86
11 296×333521 SUSSURO Tony Noonan Jake Noonan (a) 10 55kg 86
12 41382×6260 POPULATION Geoff Daffy Garry Murphy 14 55kg 85
13 450×194832 FUTURE SOLUTION Kane Harris Craig Newitt 17 55kg 84
14 37057×2891 GALILEO GOLD (NZ) Doug Harrison Dean Yendall 3 55kg 84
15 088620×690 CANNONBALL (USA) Pat Carey TBA 1 55kg 82
16 115×411 MENADOS (NZ) Nigel Blackiston Steven King 5 55kg 78
17e 247x301x90 ITS PRINCE Robbie Griffiths Andrew Mallyon 2 58kg 92
18e 75558005×0 SAPTAPADI (IRE) Jim Conlan TBA 6 58kg 92

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field