Huge Nominations List for 2012 VRC Winter Championship

Twenty six horses have been nominated for the Listed $150,000 2012 Winter Championship (1600m) which will take place at Flemington this Saturday.

Included in nominations is 2011 Caulfield and Melbourne Cup starter Saptapadi who joined Jim Conlan’s stables following the prestigious events last year.

Doubtful Jack

Doubtful Jack is one of three VRC Winter Championship nominations for Peter Moody

To be competitive the former British stayer will have to improve on his first-up effort where he finished 15th in the Winter Championship Heat on June 9.

Winner on that day Chosen To Fly has also been nominated and will be chasing a third consecutive victory after winning a previous Winter Championship Heat on May 19.

New Zealand-bred gelding Lord Pyrus is another in-form horse nominated, having placed three times from three starts this preparation.

The six-year-old is a former Group level winner and boasts a solid record of five wins and 12 place-finishes from 27 starts.

Leading trainer Peter Moody has three nominated contenders with There’s Only One, Volando and Doubtful Jack.

Testa Rossa mare There’s Only One has been in tremendous form this winter, finishing second first-up before producing consecutive victories in the Winter Championshop Handicap at Sales and the Winter Championship Heat at Flemington on June 23.

Doubtful Jack, who competed against Black Caviar in the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes, has not won since last October but most recently produced a promising effort when fourth to There’s Only One.

2011 winner Glaneuse has been nominated to defend his title but to do so will have to turn around some horrible recent form.

In his past two starts, the Michael O’Leary-trained gelding has finished in the back half of the field and has not won since he took out the event in 2011.

Other horses nominated include Peter White-trained Jungle Ruler and veteran gelding Its Prince.

When betting opens later this week for the VRC Winter Championship, will have great value odds.

The Australian owned bookie offers a superb range of racing products and also has a $300 bonus bet offer for first-time depositing customers!

VRC Winter Championship – Nominations

Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 BANCA MO David & Scott Brunton 82
2 BELLISSIMO Anthony Cummings 78
3 CANNONBALL (USA) Pat Carey 82
4 CHOSEN TO FLY Colin & Cindy Alderson 96
5 DOUBTFUL JACK Peter G Moody 94
6 FORTY THIRTY Clinton McDonald 86
7 FUTURE SOLUTION Kane Harris 84
8 GAIL Robbie Griffiths 89
9 GALILEO GOLD (NZ) Doug Harrison 84
10 GLANEUSE Michael O’Leary 94
11 GOLD SAND Lee & Shannon Hope 91
12 ITS PRINCE Robbie Griffiths 92
13 JUNGLE RULER Peter White 95
14 LADRAMAHS Shane Nichols 74
15 LORD PYRUS (NZ) Judy Mawer 96
16 LUCKYI’MBAREFOOT Matthew Williams 81
17 MENADOS (NZ) Nigel Blackiston 78
18 POPULATION Geoff Daffy 85
19 SAPTAPADI (IRE) Jim Conlan 92
20 SOPHROSYNE Michael Moroney 86
21 STONEBLACK Robert Smerdon 86
22 SUSSURO Tony Noonan 86
23 THERE’S ONLY ONE Peter G Moody 97
24 VOLANDO Peter G Moody 80
25 WINNING GLORY (NZ) David Payne 93
26 YULALONA Peter Snowden 94