2012 Queen’s Cup Nominations Released

The latest race to run over the two-mile Melbourne Cup distance takes place this Saturday in Queensland with the Queen’s Cup 2012 at Eagle Farm Racecourse.


Shamardashing is one of three 2012 Queen's Cup nominees for John Thompson

Headlining the weekend’s winter racing action the $150,000 Group 3 Queen’s Cup (3200m) has drawn just 12 nominations this year.

There is plenty of quality in the off-season stayers entered however including the top rated hopeful Booming.

Jeff Lynds’ seven-year-old Kiwi galloper bounced back from a number of disappointing runs to finish a game second behind fellow New Zealander Ginga Dude last time out in the Group 3 Tatt’s Cup (2200m) at Eagle Farm on June 23.

Booming is also experienced over the 3200-metres having run a brave fourth to Shez Sinsational in the Group 1 Auckland Cup at Ellerslie back in March, and second to Zavite in the 2010 Auckland Cup.

Also coming via the Tatt’s Cup is the John Thompson-trained Shamardashing who finished one and a quarter lengths away fourth.

Thompson is also represented in the Queen’s Cup nominations for 2012 by Count Encosta who comes off a disappointing 16th behind Caulfield Cup-bound Lights Of Heaven in the Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m), and Saint Encosta who failed to beat home any rivals in the Brisbane Cup.

Other notable Queen’s Cup entries include Gatton Cup runner-up Famous Fortune, Group 3 Premier’s Cup winner Fantastic Blue, and Roi D’Jeu who failed in the wet when fifth in the Caloundra Cup.

Craig Ritchie’s six-year-old Montjeu gelding Roi D’Jeu may have been disappointing in the Caloundra Cup last Saturday but their run before on another Heavy (10) was far more impressive when they finished a close second to Adroitly in the Stayers Cup over 3200-metres at Rosehill.

Another horse with a good recent run over the two miles is the Michael Moroney-trained Maythehorsebemagic.

The Zabeel seven-year-old, formerly prepared in New Zealand by Roger James and then Brad Peterson, joined Moroney’s Flemington stables earlier this year.

After winning the JRA Handicap (2406m) at Caulfield in their Aussie debut when still with Peterson on April 9, Maythehorsebemagic debuted for Moroney when running a disappointing eighth to Dance With Her in the Listed Warrnambool Cup (2350m) in the wet.

They bounced back next start when finishing second to Dame Claire in the Listed Andrew Ramsden Stakes (3200m) before dropping back to 2200m last start to finish seventh in the Tatt’s Cup.

Moroney hopes getting them back up in distance on Saturday will be the key to success, that and a hopefully dead – slow rated track.

“When I brought him up here my plan was to run in the Brisbane Cup then go onto the Queen’s Cup without a run in between,” Moroney explained.

“But he was an emergency for the Brisbane Cup and missed out on a start so I had to run him in the Tatt’s Cup as a back-up plan.

“He drew a bad gate in that race and had to go right back to near last. The way the track was playing on the day made it tough for him to make up ground.

“But I was happy with the way he finished off the race from a future viewpoint going to the 3200 metres next time out.

“Dead to slow tracks are best for him but any wetter than that and I’d be concerned.

“Fortunately the sun is out and there’s a strong wind (in Brisbane).

“The forecast looks promising which should help the track at Eagle Farm to dry out.”

See below for the complete 2012 Bmag Queen’s Cup nominations.

When it comes to placing your Queensland Winter Racing Carnival bets make sure you don’t settle for second best by betting online with bookmaker.com.au.

Not only do bookmaker.com.au offer the most competitive odds but they also have a huge $300 bonus sign-up bet for new customers, but only those that use the codeword BONUSBET!

2012 Queen’s Cup Nominations

Eagle Farm – 07/07/2012

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 BOOMING (NZ) Jeff Lynds 102
2 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 89
4 FANTASTIC BLUE Paul N Nolan 95
5 HANDSOME DANE Owen Glue 67
6 HUME (NZ) Brian Smith 95
7 MAYTHEHORSEBEMAGIC (NZ) Michael Moroney 87
8 ROI D’JEU (NZ) Craig Ritchie 87
9 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 88
10 SHAMARDASHING John P Thompson 93
11 SPECHENKA Ben Ahrens 89.5
12 WHITE CITY Bryan Dais 65