Melbourne Cup Trophy 2012 Tour Begins

June 27, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Melbourne Cup Trophy 2012 Tour Begins

It is the ‘race that stops a nation’ and now the trophy that visits a nation will begin its national tour with the 2012 Melbourne Cup trophy to stop in at 26 individual destinations ahead of the Melbourne Cup Carnival this spring.

Melbourne Cup 2011 Trophies

The Melbourne Cup 2011 Trophies embarked on a similar tour to the one the 2012 Loving Cup is about to embark on

Celebrating its 10th anniversary the Emirates Melbourne Cup Tour has officially been announced by the Victoria Racing Club with local destinations to be visited by the ‘Loving Trophy’ over its three-month journey around Australasia including Bairnsdale, Winchelsea, Echuca, Skipton and Healesville.

In support of grassroots racing the annual Melbourne Cup tour brings publicity and an influx of visitors to some of country’s smaller towns, something the VRC is committed to continue according to Chairman Michael Burn.

“Continuing to grow in appeal annually and reaching the Tour’s tenth year is a significant milestone,” Burn said.

“It’s a testament to the program and reinforces that the appeal of the illustrious race stretches far beyond Flemington Racecourse.

“After visiting more than 210 towns and travelling more than 285,000 kilometres to engage hundreds of thousands of people since its inception in 2003, the VRC is proud to claim the Cup as the world’s most travelled sporting trophy.”

Kicking off next month the Tour will begin in Tennant Creek and Darwin in the Northern Territory, paying homage to the country’s heartland.

Next on the agenda is Western Australia where Geraldton, Lacelin and Perth have all been selected to receive a stopover from the country’s most famous racing prize.

In New South Wales a vast visit is on the cards with Muswellbrook to host the Cup in August to coincide with the club’s 150th anniversary.

Other New South Wales towns in line for a visit include Newcastle, Wyong, Gulargambone, Nyngan and of course Sydney.

Later in August Queensland will get their turn with the state’s capital of Brisbane the first in line before it travels up the coast to Gympie, Noosa and then the tropical Cairns.

The Trophy then crosses the Tasman for its annual appearance in New Zealand where a trip to Auckland will be followed up by a festive celebration at the North Island’s Dargaville.

The Apple Isle hasn’t been forgotten either with Tasmania receiving a call in October in honour of the 1972 Melbourne Cup winner Piping Lane’s 40th anniversary.

A late move to South Australia follows before the Cup embarks on its culminating leg in Victoria.

“It was a competitive pool of tenders and we congratulate the 26 successful destinations for their Efforts,” Burn said.

“We look forward to sharing the magical trophy with communities when we take to the road in July.”

This year will mark the 152nd edition of the $6.2 million Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m), the famous Flemington two mile handicap running on Tuesday November 6, 2012.

Melbourne Cup 2012 nominations will be taken in August – September but punters don’t have to wait to get in on the elite betting action.

Our preferred online sportsbook already have their early Melbourne Cup betting odds open with the past two champions Americain (2010) and Dunaden (2011) installed as the equal $19 favourites.

So sign up with today and get in on the futures Melbourne Cup markets.

Also if you are a new depositing player with you will be eligible for a generous $300 bonus welcome bet simply by entering the limited-time-only codeword BONUSBET!

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field