Pear Tart Wins 2012 Tattersall’s Tiara – Eagle Farm Results

Pear Tart has continued her impressive Brisbane carnival with a win in the Group 1 Tatersall’s Tiara 2012 at Eagle Farm Racecourse today.

Pear Tart

Pear Tart (outside) wins the Group 1 Tattersall's Tiara 2012 at Eagle Farm

The three-year-old proved too good for the older mares as she loomed behind early leader Red Tracer to take out the win.

Skyerush placed second in the 2012 Tattersall’s Tiara, while Gai’s Choice finished in third.

Pear Tart added the Group 1 win to her last start victory in the Group 2 Queensland Guineas at Eagle Farm on June 2.

It was the third Group 1 win for trainer John Thompson, who was there to see his filly cross the line.

“She’s done so well,” Thompson said.

Thompson spoke of her surprise Guineas win in the wet last start.

“She’d had, as everyone knew, an unordinary run into that race with injury etc,” he said.

“The three weeks into it was perfect for her.

“She’s not just a wet tracker she’s just a good filly.”

The trainer was impressed with the ride given to Pear tart by jockey Jeff Lloyd.

“He got her out into a good spot,” Thompson said.

“We drew wide again (14) but she’s a filly that makes her own luck and… he sat outside the leader like he did last time.

“Full credit to the horse, she beat the older horses today in dominant fashion again.”

Pear Tart will now be spelled until the Spring, where she will most likely target races such as the Group 1 Myer Classic in November.

The Dehere filly has now won six of her nine race starts and earned more than $580,000 in prize money.

Pear Tart was paying odds of $15 to win the Tattersall’s Tiara 2012 at

Did you miss out on these great odds today? Make sure it never happens again by opening a account now.

Not only will you have access to all the best odds for all the racing around the world, but you will be eligible for a bonus bet worth $300 when you join today.

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join to be part of this special offer!

2012 Tattersall’s Tiara – Race Results & Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 16 PEAR TART John P Thompson Jeff Lloyd 14 55.5kg $15
2 4 SKYERUSH Guy Walter Brenton Avdulla 0.2L 1 57kg $41
3 7 GAI’S CHOICE David Pfieffer Jay Ford 0.4L 2 57kg $9
4 2 RED TRACER Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 0.5L 11 57kg $6
5 6 DIVORCES Peter Snowden Grant Cooksley 0.9L 5 57kg $17
6 11 RISK AVERSION Michael Lakey Chris Munce 1.3L 6 57kg $26
7 8 VARENNA MISS Tony Noonan Jim Byrne 2.3L 13 57kg $14
8 10 BALMONT Guy Walter Timothy Bell (a) 2.5L 9 57kg $61
9 1 MID SUMMER MUSIC Peter G Moody Ben Melham 4.3L 17 57kg $6
10 15 SHOPAHOLIC (NZ) Danny O’Brien Dwayne Dunn 4.8L 8 55.5kg $5F
11 18 EMMALENE Liam Birchley Glen Colless 5L 3 55.5kg $21
12 13 ALLTHERIGHTMOVES Les Kelly Jason Taylor 5.1L 10 57kg $21
13 3 MISS KEEPSAKE (NZ) Joseph Pride Larry Cassidy 5.3L 15 57kg $31
14 5 SISTINE ANGEL Andrew Noblet Ric McMahon 6L 4 57kg $16
15 17 SOFT SAND Colin Little Damien Oliver 6.5L 16 55.5kg $5.50
16 9 SO PRISTINE Peter G Moody Michael Walker 8.5L 12 57kg $81
17 12 FORFEITURE Peter Snowden Daniel Griffin 10.5L 18 57kg $41
18 14 BONNIE MAC (NZ) Michael Moroney Eddie Wilkinson 11.8L 7 57kg $14