Sizzling Wins 2012 The TJ Smith – Eagle Farm Race 5

Sizzling has continued his unbeaten winter preparation by winning the Group 1 The TJ Smith at Eagle Farm today June 9, 2012.

The two-year-old fought on like the champion he is to outrun second-place getter Kabayan by a nose in the $500,000 race.

Sizzling and Kabayan

Sizzling (outside) wins the 2012 TJ Smith from Kabayan

Academus crossed the line in third position, while Toydini held on to place fourth.

Sizzling has now won five of his eight race starts and has earned close $800,000 in prize money after today’s 2012 The TJ Smith win.

Trainer Kelso Wood was over the moon after the race was run and won by his colt.

“He really dug deep,” Wood said.

Wood was quietly confident as Sizzling went after Kabayan in the final stages of the race.

“I can’t say I knew he would get him down but I knew he was going to fight him. (I knew) he’d have a fight on his hands the other horse,” he said.

The win was all the more meaningful for Wood due to his affiliation with the horse’s owners.

“They’ve all been terrific owners for me, they’re very loyal. He’s been with me for 20 odd years,” Wood said.

“It’s a pleasure to train for people like that.”

Jockey Chris Munce was full of admiration for Sizzling soon after crossing the line.

“He’s a beauty you know, I just love this bloke and he deserves a Group 1,” Munce said.

“That was his goal all along.”

Munce was also full of praise for Sizzling’s trainer.

“It’s a boutique little stable but I tell you what he’s a super horseman and super trainer,” he said of Wood.

Munce was shocked when Boban went out and lead early in the 2012 The TJ Smith.

“It put the race in a completely different complexion than I thought it would be and he had to adapt this horse and he did,” the jockey said.

Sizzling will now go on towards a Melbourne spring campaign, where he will likely take on the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas.

“He deserves a chance and I can assure you one thing, he won’t let anybody down,” Munce said.

Sizzling was paying odds of $1.70 to win the 2012 The TJ Smith at

You can still open an account with now and be instantly credited with your $300 bonus bet in time for the 2012 Stradbroke Handicap later today.

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join to be rewarded with your bonus bet worth 100% of your initial deposit between $25 and $300.

So sign up to start experiencing betting the way it should be with now.

2012 The TJ Smith Race Results & Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 1 SIZZLING Kelso Wood Chris Munce 3 57kg $1.60F
2 10 KABAYAN Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 0.1L 8 57kg $10
3 6 ACADEMUS Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 2.4L 6 57kg $7
4 9 TOYDINI Guy Walter Glen Boss 2.5L 11 57kg $41
5 7 NINTH LEGION Anthony Cummings Damien Oliver 2.6L 13 57kg $17
6 13 WHAT A GAL Liam Birchley Paul Hammersley 2.8L 5 55kg $151
7 3 NOOGOORA BURR David Lawlor Brad Rawiller 3.3L 4 57kg $51
8 12 DONNA CATTIVA (NZ) Danny O’Brien Dwayne Dunn 4L 7 55kg $17
9 4 DANCES ON STARS (NZ) Gerald Ryan Corey Brown 4.5L 10 57kg $15
10 5 REGULAR Bryan Guy Daniel Griffin 7.3L 2 57kg $51
11 2 CHOICE BRO John Sargent Jonathan Riddell 9.5L 12 57kg $61
12 11 COURTZ BOY Helen Page Michael Rodd 16.8L 9 57kg $201
13 8 BOBAN Anthony Freedman Hugh Bowman 23.8L 1 57kg $6