Plenty of Quality in 2012 Brisbane Cup Field

June 6, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Plenty of Quality in 2012 Brisbane Cup Field

A quality field of 18 horses have been named to contest this Saturday’s Group 2 $300,000 2012 Brisbane Cup (2400m) at Eagle Farm.

Mawingo & Lights Of Heaven

Mawingo and Lights Of Heaven will again go head to head in the Brisbane Cup

Headlining the field is Doomben Cup winner Mawingo who is poised well to score a second straight win after drawing favourably in barrier five.

The Anthony Freedman-trained stayer will again be ridden by star Sydney jockey Nash Rawiller after he piloted the German import to Doomben Cup victory in controversial circumstances.

Rawiller eventually appealed a 10-meeting suspension after being charged with careless riding following accusations he caused interference to race favourite Manighar as the horses past the first post.

Peter Moody-trained Lights Of Heaven gets a chance to exact revenge on Mawingo after finishing a head behind him in the Doomben Cup.

The four-year-old mare will be backing up just seven days after her impressive three-length victory in the Eagle Farm Cup but faces a tough ask after drawing wide in barrier 19.

Veteran gelding Scenic Shot finished second behind Lights Of Heaven in the Eagle Farm Cup and will be out to add a second Brisbane Cup title to his resume after taking out the event in 2009.

The nine-year-old stayer has raced an incredible 73 times and from that has recorded 17 wins and collected more than $3 million in prize money.

Also included in the field is Dance With Her who was beaten in a tight finish in the Group 3 Premier’s Cup last start but has been in impressive form.

The Al Maher mare won the Warrnambool Cup in early May and backed it up to also take out the Listed Centaurea Stakes at Morphetville.

Other horses included in the final field for the Brisbane Cup include last-start winners Fantastic Blue and Reuben Percival and Chris Waller-trained Wazn.

For the best Brisbane Cup odds, be sure to head to later this week to back a winner!

Home of the $300 bonus bet, the Australian owned bookmaker has all the products to suit your racing needs.

Brisbane Cup 2012 – Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 13X8003542 SCENIC SHOT Daniel Morton Shane Scriven 11 59kg 111
2 1314X5X131 MAWINGO (GER) Anthony Freedman Nash Rawiller 5 57.5kg 108
3 25930X7221 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 19 55.5kg 108
4 315100X072 THE VERMINATOR Chris Waller Damien Oliver 16 55.5kg 104
5 5955082448 BOOMING (NZ) Jeff Lynds Hugh Bowman 7 55kg 103
6 5451X00823 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan Michael Rodd 9 54.5kg 102
7 X5660X5096 ABSOLUTELY Michael Kent 12 53.5kg 104
8 50X1160112 DANCE WITH HER David Brideoake & David Feek Dwayne Dunn 1 53kg 103
9 X77X0X4380 LARRY’S NEVER LATE (NZ) Jim Conlan Michael Walker 8 53kg 99
10 15X08X0081 FANTASTIC BLUE Paul N Nolan Glen Boss 6 53kg 97
11 070904X010 HUME (NZ) Brian Smith Scott Galloway 18 53kg 96
12 912621X429 WAZN (IRE) Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 2 53kg 95
13 14X7952131 REUBEN PERCIVAL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Kerrin McEvoy 20 53kg 94
14 4X88353114 SHAMARDASHING John P Thompson Chris Munce 17 53kg 94
15 770X000402 SPECHENKA Ben Ahrens Paul Hammersley 15 53kg 92
16 435X753452 ANUDJAWUN (NZ) Shaun Dwyer Corey Brown 21 53kg 91
17 46433X8868 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson Jim Cassidy 4 53kg 90
18 X770266X30 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson Jeff Lloyd 13 53kg 89
19e 6091322175 ZA MAGIC Brian Smith Eddie Wilkinson 14 53kg 88
20e 2112X56182 MAYTHEHORSEBEMAGIC (NZ) Michael Moroney 10 53kg 87
21e 322X1121 FRUEHLING (IRE) Anthony Freedman 3 53kg 83

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field