Mental Tops 2012 Daybreak Lover Plate Nominations

June 5, 2012

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Mental Tops 2012 Daybreak Lover Plate Nominations

Exciting three-year-old Mental heads a 20-horse nominations list for the 2012 Daybreak Lover Plate (1600m) which will take place at Eagle Farm on Saturday.


Exciting gelding Mental has been nominated for the Daybreak Lover Plate

The Lonhro gelding is also nominated for the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap but currently sits at 24th on the order of entry and would require a number of withdrawals to gain a start.

Trained by Peter Snowden, Mental was considered among the favourites to take out the Stradbroke but needed to win Saturday’s Queensland Guineas in order to gain qualification.

The Darley product struggled in wet conditions to run fifth in the Queensland Guineas but prior to that recorded back-to-back victories including the Group 3 Fred Best Classic.

Also nominated are Robert Heathcote-trained pair Volkhere and Trump who have both experienced their share of success this year.

Lightly-raced gelding Volkhere has two wins and two placings from four career starts including a last-start win over Kelbenjar in the Ambassador Travel Handicap at Doomben.

Trump struggled last start when 12th in the Queensland Guineas but earlier this year finished second in a Listed event at Doomben before winning the Group 3 Gunsynd Classic ahead of Goldslick and Brambles.

New Zealand gelding Dollario arrived in Australia on the back of a third-place effort in November’s Group 1 NZ 2000 Guineas and has performed solidly in lower level events since touching down on Australian soil.

The son of Captain Rio finished second first-up at Ipswich and backed it up with a third-place finish at the Gold Coast on May 19.

Dollario is one of four New Zealand-bred horses included in nominations with the others being Adamantium, Shanghai Bund and Uppland.

Visit later this week to gain access to sensational value odds on the Daybreak Lover Plate.

Quote the code BONUSBET when opening a new account to be rewarded with a $300 bonus bet offer!

Daybreak Lover Plate 2012 – Nominations

Horse Trainer
1 ADAMANTIUM (NZ) Danny O’Brien
2 AMETSIS Russell Cameron
3 ARCTIC Brian Smith
4 BIGGLES Noel J Doyle
5 DAPH ’N’ ALF Nathan J Schofield
6 DOLLARIO (NZ) John Sargent
7 DOUBLE IMPACT Jackie Crompton
8 EXTRACEED Gerald Ryan
9 GOTTA BE LUCKY Peter Strong
11 MENTAL Peter Snowden
12 NOISY OCEAN Bryan Guy
13 OUR SMOKIN’ ROCK Anthony Freedman
14 PLAYTIME Todd Austin
16 SHANGHAI BUND (NZ) John Sargent
17 TRUMP Robert Heathcote
18 UPPLAND (NZ) Kenny Rae
19 VENTURE ON Brian Smith
20 VOLKHERE Robert Heathcote

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Dubai-Bound Hey Doc Resumes in...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australia...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australian Guineas Contingent

Sydney-based Chris Waller is stepping-up the autumn lead-up work for his...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway Stakes Shot

A good run fresh in Saturday’s Summer Sprint at Royal Randwick could earn the...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for La...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes 2018

Group 1 placed Mr Sneaky could target the 2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field