Solzhenitsyn Heads 2012 Spear Chief Handicap Nominations

May 29, 2012

Solzhenitsyn Heads 2012 Spear Chief Handicap Nominations

In-form Robert Heathcote-trained gelding Solzhenitsyn headlines the nominations for Saturday’s Listed $80,000 2012 Spear Chief Handicap (1500m) at Eagle Farm.


BTC Cup Day winner Solzhenitsyn will step up in class for the 2012 Lord Mayor's Cup at Doomben on Saturday

The talented five-year-old will be chasing a third consecutive victory after impressing in two starts so far in the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

A son of St Petersburg, Solzhenitsyn began his winter carnival in stunning fashion when winning the Easy Pools Plate by nearly two lengths before stepping up to Group level to take out the Lord Mayor’s Cup by a length.

It was by far the most prominent victory of his career and took his record to eight wins from 20 starts.

Also nominated to run in the Spear Chief Handicap is New Zealand-bred gelding Firebolt who has had a promising build up but is yet to score victory in 2012.

The Chris Waller-trained six-year-old has not finished worse than fourth in his last three starts and most recently finished second to Solzenhitsyn in the Lord Mayor’s Cup.

Also coming into the race with recent form on the board is Brian Smith-trained Meet George who is fresh off a runner-up finish to Stradbroke fancy Tiger Tees in the Group 3 BRC Sprint.

The experienced gelding has had 40 career outings and from that has scored victory 10 times and placed on another four occasions.

Norm Hilton-trained gelding Carry Me Bluey boasts an impressive record of seven wins and 10 place-finishes from 23 starts but struggled last start when finishing 14th in the BRC Sprint.

Other horses nominated include Kelso Wood-trained six-year-old Belltone, General Nediym gelding Dusty Star, last-start winner Riva De Lago and New Zealand mare St Germaine.

Markets will open later this week on the Spear Chief Handicap and the best place to back a winner is at

The preferred bookie is fully Australian owned and offers a $300 bonus bet to first-time depositing customers.

Spear Chief Handicap 2012 – Nominations

Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 ADAMANTIUM (NZ) Danny O’Brien
2 ANDROMACHE (NZ) Sam Pritchard-Gordon
3 BELLTONE Kelso Wood 90
4 BINGO ROSE Ian Livingstone 76
5 BRAVE THE WAY Alan Bailey 83
6 CARRY ME BLUEY Norm Hilton 93
7 DALZAR Doug Duryea 87
8 DUSTY STAR Peter Morgan 95
9 FIREBOLT (NZ) Chris Waller 98
10 GENERAL PURPLE Brian Smith 82
11 HOUR OF PERIL John P Thompson 82
12 LAKE GEORGE (NZ) John Morrisey 87
13 MECCA BAH Mark Sues 63
14 MEET GEORGE Brian Smith 95
15 MISS CRISSY (IRE) Darren Weir
16 MR ARMSTRONG John P Thompson
17 NERIANI John Sadler
18 OAK STREET Bryan Guy 81
19 PEPPERWOOD Liam Birchley 92
20 POTIONS John P Thompson
21 RACING HEART Robert Heathcote 94
22 RIVA DE LAGO Con Karakatsanis
23 SOLZHENITSYN (NZ) Robert Heathcote 97
24 ST GERMAINE (NZ) John Sargent 92
25 TOPPING Tony Gollan 88
26 TORIN Mark Sues
27 VIVA LAS Neville & Christopher Voigt 85

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Le Romain gets top weight for ...

Youngstar and Another Dollar r...

Youngstar and Another Dollar run quinella again in 2018 Queensland Oaks

The Chris Waller trained stablemates Youngstar and Another Dollar repeated...

Impending adds value to stud c...

Impending adds value to stud career with 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup win

The James Cummings trained Impending added value to his future stud career by...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betting Update

Betting for the 2018 Group 1 $700,000 Altus Traffic Kingsford-Smith Cup...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field