2012 Premier’s Cup Nominations – Doomben 10,000 Day

May 22, 2012

2012 Premier’s Cup Nominations – Doomben 10,000 Day

This Saturday Doomben Racecourse will come to life for Doomben 10,000 Day, one of the key support races on the program being the Premier’s Cup 2012.


Hume is one of the top chances among the 2012 Premier's Cup nominations

Nominations for all the Doomben 10,000 Day races were taken by Racing Queensland on Monday with a bumper 24 early entries being nominated for the $125,000 Group 3 The Channel Seven Premier’s Cup (2200m).

A crucial lead-up race for gallopers heading towards one of the other Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival staying features, the $300,000 Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m) at Eagle Farm on Stradbroke Handicap Day June 9, the Premier’s Cup is always a hotly contested affair.

Last year’s Premier Cup winner was the Bryan Guy-trained Shuffle The Cash who will be back to defend their title in 2012.

The now seven-year-old Dash For Cash grey hasn’t won a race since their Premier’s Cup success 12 months ago.

Leading up to last year’s victory Shuffle The Cash ran seventh in the Group 3 QLD Chairman’s Handicap (2020m) which is the exact same race and finishing position they come via this year as well.

Chairman’s Handicap winner Hume from the local stables of Brian Smith is also nominated for the Premier’s Cup on Saturday as are Gerald Ryan’s Sydney-based runner-up Ironstein and Bruce Hill’s third placegetter Warrior Within from the Gold Coast.

Other local Queensland hopes in the mix include Ben Ahrens‘ Beaudesert galloper Spechenka and the Kelly Purdy-trained Galileo gelding Rundle who ran fourth and fifth respectively in the Chairman’s.

There is an abundance of other interstate raiders nominated for the Premier’s Cup this year including two from the Chris Waller stables in Sydney with 2011 The Metropolitan winner The Verminator and Wazn who comes off a good second to Kinnersley in the listed Lord Mayor’s Cup (2000m) at Rosehill.

Cranbourne trainer Michael Kent is also dually represented in The Premier’s Cup nominations with his former AJC Oaks winner Absolutely and Ballarat Cup champ Domesky.

Some of the more highly rated hopefuls featuring in the entries are then John Thompson’s Shamardashing looking for their third on the trot but who needs it wet to be at their best, and the Michael Moroney-trained Viking Hero.

The 2012 Premier’s Cup final field is due out on Wednesday with Races.com.au to publish the full list of acceptances and barriers.

In the meantime why not get ready for the racing and betting action by opening your account with the best bookie in the country – bookmaker.com.au.

Right now when you sign up and deposit at bookmaker.com.au you will be eligible for a $300 bonus welcome bet simply by quoting the codeword BONUSBET!

2012 Premier’s Cup Nominations

Doomben – 26/05/2012

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ABSOLUTELY Michael Kent
2 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 90
3 DANCE WITH HER David Brideoake & David Feek
4 DOMESKY Michael Kent
5 FANTASTIC BLUE Paul N Nolan 90
6 FRUEHLING (IRE) Anthony Freedman 77
7 HUME (NZ) Brian Smith 97
8 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan 102
10 MARKED Robert Heathcote 77.5
11 MOURASANA (GB) Michael Moroney 79.5
12 MR LIGHT BLUE Barry Baldwin
13 PRECIOUS MANDY Maryann Thexton
14 RETUNE David Kelly 61
15 RUNDLE Kelly Purdy 91
16 SHAMARDASHING John P Thompson 94
17 SHUFFLE THE CASH Bryan Guy 93
18 SPECHENKA Ben Ahrens 93
19 STREETS AWAY (NZ) Alan Bailey 88
20 THE VERMINATOR Chris Waller
21 VIKING HERO Michael Moroney 91
22 WARRIOR WITHIN Bruce W Hill 92
23 WAZN (IRE) Chris Waller
24 ZA MAGIC Brian Smith 88

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Waller to have multiple runner...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field