BRC Sprint 2012 – Nominations Include Plenty of Quality

May 15, 2012

BRC Sprint 2012 – Nominations Include Plenty of Quality

The Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival is now well and truly underway and one of the key support races on Saturday’s bumper Doomben Cup Day card is the Group 3 2012 BRC Sprint (1350m).

A quality line up of 22 horses have been nominated to fill the 16 available spots in the $125,000 event including talented Joseph Pride-trained four-year-old Tiger Tees.

The Dubawi gelding has seven wins from 10 starts and was particularly impressive last start when leading the entire race to defeat Pinwheel and Neeson in the Hall Mark Stakes at Randwick on April 28.

Joining Tiger Tees in nominations is fellow last-start winner Free Wheeling who recorded a dominant four-length victory in the Hawkesbury Guineas in a race that included quality youngsters Pied A Terre and Landing.

The Hawkesbury Guineas was run over 1400 metres so the Peter Snowden-trained colt will not be troubled by the 1350 metre BRC Sprint distance, having also placed fourth over 1500 metres in the Group 2 Phar Lap Stakes.

One of the more experienced horses included in nominations is Randwick-based gelding Thankgodyou’rehere who has eight wins from 21 starts.

The six-year-old is a two-time Group level winner and was not disgraced last start when running fifth in the Group 1 Galaxy in his first race since being spelled in November.

Leading Brisbane trainer Robert Heathcote has two runners included in nominations with Gundy Son and Racing Heart.

Five-year-old gelding Racing Heart will be running first-up and faces a step up in class but has a solid record of nine wins from 31 starts while Gundy Son is fresh off a third-place effort in the Listed Hinkler Quality Handicap at Eagle Farm on April 21.

One horse coming into the race in tremendous form is Anthony Freedman-trained gelding Smokin’ Joey who is chasing a fourth consecutive victory.

The 1350 metres should suit the son of Encosta De Lago as his last three wins have come over 1400 metres with the highlight being the Group 3 Victoria Handicap which he won by 2 ½ lengths ahead of Under The Eiffel.

Also included in nominations for the BRC Sprint include John Thompson-trained trio They Won’t Last, Metallurgical and Hour Of Peril and Prime Minister’s Cup winner Celtic Dancer.

For the best betting on all the Brisbane Winter Carnival action, be sure to visit the Australian owned

Home of Quickbet technology – the fastest way to bet – is currently offering a $300 bonus bet to new customers!

BRC Sprint 2012 – Nominations

Horse Trainer
1 BEETHOG Les Kelly
2 BELLTONE Kelso Wood
3 CARRY ME BLUEY Norm Hilton
5 DALZAR Doug Duryea
6 DURHAM TOWN (NZ) Donna Logan
7 DUSTY STAR Peter Morgan
8 FREE WHEELING Peter Snowden
9 GUNDY SON Robert Heathcote
10 HOUR OF PERIL John P Thompson
11 JAM FANCY Helen Page
12 KING OF THE KONGO Steele Ryan
13 LISTEN SON Tony Gollan
14 MEET GEORGE Brian Smith
15 METALLURGICAL John P Thompson
16 RACING HEART Robert Heathcote
17 SMOKIN’ JOEY Anthony Freedman
18 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff
19 THANKGODYOU’REHERE Patrick & Wayne Webster
20 THEY WON’T LAST John P Thompson
21 TIGER TEES (NZ) Joseph Pride
22 TORIO’S QUEST Brett Partelle

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field