Warrnambool Cup 2012 Nominations

May 1, 2012

Warrnambool Cup 2012 Nominations

Two time Group level winner Larry’s Never Later heads nominations for the Listed $200,000 2012 Warrnambool Cup (2350m) that will take place as the feature event on a 10-race card this Thursday.

The versatile Jim Conlan-trained gelding is a regular metropolitan runner and will head to the Warrnambool with promising form on his side after running third in the Listed JRA Plate at Randwick on April 21.

A son of Pentire, the six-year-old has won seven of 33 starts including the 2010 Launceston Cup and the Group 3 Rainbow Foundation Stakes.

He is joined in nominations by Al Maher mare Dance With Her who has experienced plenty of success in regional Victoria recently.

The five-year-old began her 2012 campaign with victories in Bendigo’s Golden Mile as well as the Pakenham Cup.

She will appreciate the return back to the country after struggling in two metropolitan hit-outs following the Pakenham Cup win.

Adelaide Cup fourth place-getter Enchanting Waters will enjoy a return to a stayer’s distance after finishing sevenths over 1600 metres last start.

The seven-year-old mare has enjoyed recent success over longer distances including the Group 3 Lord Reims Stakes at Morphetville where she produced an impressive 2.5 length victory.

Local hope Hissing Sid returns for another crack at the event in which he took top honours in both 2009 and 2010.

The seven-year-old gelding did not contest his home race in 2011 and it will be interesting to see how he handles the return after producing a disappointing ninth in his last start in the Hamilton Cup.

Other horses set to compete in the 2012 Warrnambool Cup include Robert Smerdon-trained gelding Black and Bent, French import Laristan and Ken Keys-trained Boom ‘n’ Zoom.

Warrnambool Cup 2012 – Nominations

Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 ABITOFADO (NZ) Patrick F Ryan 84
2 AKZAR (IRE) Rob Blacker 82
3 BLACK AND BENT Robert Smerdon 96
4 BOOM ’N’ ZOOM Ken Keys 94
5 BORAT Jarrod McLean 66
6 CLANGA’S GLORY Dennis Beriman 76
7 CONSTANT FORCE Bill & Symon Wilde 90
8 CRABS (NZ) Chris Hyland 91
9 CROCODILE CANYON (NZ) Patrick Payne 86
10 DANCE WITH HER David Brideoake & David Feek 99
11 DARK NOTE Mark Houlahan 82
12 DOMESKY Michael Kent 98
13 ENCHANTING WATERS Michael Sell 92
14 FIELDMASTER (NZ) Patrick Payne 92
15 FINE CALIBRE Aaron Purcell 72
16 FINIGUERRA Darryl Dodson 87
17 GOTHIC CROWN Todd Balfour 55
18 HISSING SID Bill & Symon Wilde 94
19 HURDY GURDY MAN Darren Weir 72
20 I’M JAKE (NZ) David Brideoake & David Feek 91
21 JELLY BABY (NZ) Michael Moroney 76
22 KERDEM (IRE) Patrick Payne 85
23 KIRRIBILLI GOLD Robert Smerdon 68
24 LARISTAN (FR) David Hayes 97
25 LARRY’S NEVER LATE (NZ) Jim Conlan 100
26 LUCKY EIGHTY EIGHT Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 97
28 MAYTHEHORSEBEMAGIC (NZ) Michael Moroney 87
29 MISS PHROMILY Chris Hyland 70
30 MODULE (NZ) Peter Gelagotis 91
31 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher 84
32 OLYMPIC WIN (NZ) Robert Smerdon 89
33 RISK IT ALL Michael O’Leary 79
34 ROWLAND Robbie Laing 75
35 STREAKY FELLA Aaron Purcell 80
36 SWOOPER Darryl Dodson 89
37 TELESMON Matthew Williams 72
38 THE BLACK OAK (NZ) Ciaron Maher 82
39 TUSCAN FIRE Dan O’Sullivan 74

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Invincible Gem firms in 2018 T...

An inside barrier to help Cham...

An inside barrier to help Champagne Cuddles claim Group 1 win in 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

A good barrier draw will assist Champagne Cuddles in winning a maiden Group 1...

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Calanda to carry top weight in 2018 W.J. Healy Stakes

The Team Snowden trained Calanda will carry the top weight in Saturday’s Group...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?