Black Caviar Next Race – 2012 The Goodwood Nominations

After annihilating her inferior rivals with ease for her 20th straight career success the undefeated Black Caviar is now likely to back-up in the 2012 The Goodwood at Morphettville on Saturday May 12, nominations for which have now been taken.

Black Caviar

The undefeated Black Caviar will have her final race down under in the 2012 The Goodwood Saturday week

A total of 30 sprinters were nominated for this year’s edition of the $500,000 Group 1 The Distinctive Homes Goodwood (1200m), Peter Moody’s superlative mare Black Caviar the obvious headliner.

Over 30,000 race fans flocked to Morphettville last Saturday to watch the brilliant daughter of Bel Esprit enter the history books once more, this time setting a new Australasian record for consecutive metro wins at 20.

There are horses, there are good horses, there are champion horses and then there is Black Caviar.

She is now a 10-time Group 1 winner across four states, a $5.45 million earner and after The Goodwood Black Caviar will be tested on the international stage when she goes to England’s Royal Ascot for the Diamond Jubilee Stakes.

But first – The Goodwood.

Brenton Wilkinson from the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) confirmed that Moody and connections were happy with the way Black Caviar had pulled through her effortless romp in the Robert Sangster Stakes and she was on track for win No. 21.

“She floated back to Melbourne, had a swim and did a bit of track work,” he said.

“They’re pleased with the way she’s pulled up.

“We could see that she was probably still a little bit fat and had a really good blow after the race, and even with that blow she was still able to win by four and a half lengths.”

Unlike other years when a number of horses contest the Robert Sangster Stakes – The Goodwood double, not one of the nine horses that had their hinds kicked by Black Caviar last Saturday are going for round two against the ‘Black Flash’.

The horses that finished top four in one of the other features at Morphettville last Saturday, the $115,000 Group 3 DC McKay Stakes (1100m), however have been nominated for The Goodwood.

DC McKay Stakes winner Outlandish Lad, runner-up Kulgrinda, third placed Go The Knuckle and fourth placegetter Stirling Grove.

Also coming via the DC McKay Stakes are Periduki (5th), We’re Gonna Rock (6th) and Streetcar Magic (7th).

DC McKay Stakes runner-up Kulgrinda is actually a stablemate to Black Caviar, the fellow Moody-trained mare having been ridden by Luke Nolen on the weekend.

A new jockey will have to be arranged if she too goes to The Goodwood with Nolen to continue his flawless association with the queen of the turf Black Caviar.

Other big name 2012 The Goodwood nominees include Jason Warren’s consistent Bel Esprit gelding Bel Sprinter who is out to atone for their ninth in The Galaxy last start, the John Sadler-trained Linton who was formerly prepared by Robert Hickmott and who hasn’t raced since last October, and Clarry Conners’ smart filly Satin Shoes.

Stay tuned to for all the latest The Goodwood field and betting updates with final acceptances due out on Tuesday May 8.

While Black Caviar is going to be at an unbackably short price, don’t think The Goodwood won’t be worth a punt on at this year.

Get ready for the action now by opening your account and when you do make sure to quote the code BONUSBET to unlock $300 in free bets – only at!

2012 The Goodwood Nominations

Morphettville – 12/05/2012

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 BEL SPRINTER Jason Warren 104
2 BLACK CAVIAR Peter G Moody 130
3 BONNIE MAC (NZ) Michael Moroney 80
4 CATAPULTED Mark Kavanagh 106
5 CURTANA Peter G Moody 101
6 DONNIDI SULINA (NZ) Wayne Walters 75
7 DUSTY STAR Peter Morgan 96
8 EIGHT BILLS Troy Portelli 93
9 GO THE KNUCKLE Mark Minervini 94
10 KULGRINDA Peter G Moody 102
11 LE REMAS Brian McKnight 77
12 LIKE BOLT Darryl Carrison 76
13 LINTON John Sadler 108
14 LIVEANDLETDIE Mark Kavanagh 96
15 OUTLANDISH LAD Dennis O’Leary 108
16 PAGO ROCK David Hayes 97
17 PERIDUKI Mick Whittle 100
18 POWER PRINCESS Simon A Miller 106
19 ROCKING FORCE Mandy Shillito 98
20 SATIN SHOES Clarry Conners 102
21 SECRET FLYER Mark Young 98
22 SHOCK VALUE David Hayes 98
23 SHOPAHOLIC (NZ) Danny O’Brien 95
24 SPACECRAFT David Hayes 99
25 STANZOUT Colin Davies 95
26 STIRLING GROVE Richard Jolly 100
27 STRATCOMBE Mick Price 94
28 STREETCAR MAGIC David Jolly 99
29 WEHOLDTHEACE Craig Stewart 77
30 WE’RE GONNA ROCK Mark Kavanagh 103