Official 2012 Doomben Cup Nominations

April 26, 2012

Official 2012 Doomben Cup Nominations

Today Racing Queensland released the early nominations for seven of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival’s Group 1 features including those for the Doomben Cup 2012.


Triple Group 1 winner Manighar is one of the top rated 2012 Doomben Cup nominations

Set to run at Doomben Racecourse on Saturday May 19, the $500,000 Group 1 Kirks Doomben Cup (2000m) has this year attracted 45 nominees.

Among the entries is defending Doomben Cup winner Scenic Shot, Dan Morton’s rising 10-year-old the oldest of the hopefuls.

Showing they weren’t ready for the paddock just yet the evergreen veteran was last seen running a good third behind Ginga Dude and Triple Honour in the Listed Member’s Quality Handicap (1600m) at Eagle Farm on April 21.

Both Graeme Boyd’s Kiwi galloper Ginga Dude and the local Rob Heathcote-trained Triple Honour also feature in this year’s Doomben Cup nominations.

Three of the biggest name Doomben Cup entries will face off at Randwick’s Sydney Cup Day on Saturday with flying import Manighar, 2010 Melbourne Cup winner Americain and Cox Plate runner-up Jimmy Choux all racing in the $500,000 Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m).

The now Peter Moody-trained Manighar has won their past three starts at elite level with victories in the Australian Cup, Ranvet Stakes and The BMW.

Moody confirmed he hadn’t ruled the Doomben Cup out for Manighar so long as they came through the Queen Elizabeth well.

Another Doomben Cup hopeful racing this Saturday in Sydney is 2007 Melbourne Cup winner Efficient who is the 58kg topweight in the $500,000 Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m).

It is shaping up as another star-studded Doomben Cup field with plenty of other Group 1 winners in the mix including form AJC Oaks winner Absolutely, Gai Waterhouse’s The Metropolitan champ Herculian Prince, veteran galloper Rangirangdoo, and Epsom Handicap champ Secret Admirer.

Also on the Doomben Cup path is the Allan Sharrock-trained Kiwi mare Shez Sinsational who will be out for the Auckland Cup – Doomben Cup double.

After taking out the Auckland Cup over the two miles on May 7, which was her third Group 1 triumph, the Ekraar four-year-old came off a 45 day spell to win over 1400-metres last Saturday as she begins preparations to travel down under.

“She’s something special all right, Sharrock said after the easy win at Tauranga.

“It was just like a trial for her; just imagine what she’s going to do when she gets a distance to suit.

“Not many can come back from two miles and win their next race at 1400.

“We’re having a lot of fun with her.”

Connections have until 11:00am (QLD time) on Friday for late nominations into the Doomben Cup.

First acceptances will be taken on Wednesday May 9 followed by the final acceptances revealing the Doomben Cup final field on May 16.

Our favourite online bookie will release futures betting on the Doomben Cup shortly so get ready for the juicy pre-field markets by opening your account today.

Remember to quote the code BONUSBET when you Open your new account to also enjoy a $300 Bonus Bet on the house!

2012 Doomben Cup Nominations

Doomben – 19/05/2012

# Horse Trainer
1 ABSOLUTELY Michael Kent
2 ADROITLY Peter Snowden
3 AGENT BAUER Gwenda Markwell
4 AMERICAIN (USA) David Hayes
5 BOOMING (NZ) Jeff Lynds
6 BRIGHTEST Guy Walter
7 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson
8 DIAGO Liam Birchley
9 DOMESKY Michael Kent
10 EFFICIENT (NZ) Robert Hickmott
11 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes
13 FORETELLER (GB) Chris Waller
14 GALIZANI John P Thompson
15 GATHERING John P Thompson
16 GINGA DUDE (NZ) Graeme Boyd
17 HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
18 HUEGILL Peter G Moody
19 IGGI POP (NZ) John O’Shea
20 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan
21 ISOPACH John P Thompson
22 JIMMY CHOUX (NZ) John Bary
23 LARISTAN (FR) David Hayes
24 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter G Moody
25 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody
26 MAWINGO (GER) Anthony Freedman
27 MISS KEEPSAKE (NZ) Joseph Pride
28 MOURASANA (GB) Michael Moroney
29 MR LIGHT BLUE Barry Baldwin
30 PEPPERWOOD Liam Birchley
31 RANGIRANGDOO (NZ) Chris Waller
32 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson
33 SCENIC SHOT Daniel Morton
34 SECRET ADMIRER Grahame Begg
35 SHAMARDASHING John P Thompson
36 SHEZ SINSATIONAL (NZ) Allan Sharrock
38 SKYERUSH Guy Walter
39 THE VERMINATOR Chris Waller
40 TRIPLE HONOUR (NZ) Robert Heathcote
41 TYCOON’S HEART David Kelly
42 VIKING HERO Michael Moroney
43 WALL STREET (NZ) Michael Moroney
44 WESTERN SYMBOL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
45 ZA MAGIC Brian Smith

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field