Champion More Joyous Wins 2012 Doncaster Mile

April 21, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Champion More Joyous Wins 2012 Doncaster Mile

Heavily backed favourite More Joyous has shown her class yet again with a terrific victory in the prestigious 2012 Doncaster Mile at Royal Randwick today.

More Joyous

2012 Doncaster Mile winner More Joyous

With plenty of rain about during the week, the glamour mare was nearly scratched from $2 million feature race but she lined up and delivered a trademark performance with a tremendous win over Shoot Out and Yosei.

Ridden by Nash Rawiller, the champion jumped well and sat nicely behind the leaders before exploding down the outside at the top of the straight and went on to win by nearly a length.

The Gai Waterhouse favourite now has seven Group 1 victories and a career total of 18 wins from 25 starts.

Rawiller has had a long association with More Joyous and has now ridden her to three straight victories but even he was in awe of her talent after the race.

“What an unbelieveable mare…Doncaster Mile, it’s Sydney’s hardest race to win,” Rawiller said.

“She’s just something special.”

Many doubted the More Than Ready mare’s ability to carry 57.5kg into less than ideal conditions but she produced a result that overwhelmed her high profile trainer.

“The most satisfying thing I’ve seen for years. There’s the New South Wales champion mare,” Waterhouse said.

“Such determination…very satisfying, very nice.”

It marks the seventh Doncaster win for Waterhouse who said earlier this week that if More Joyous were to start she would win the race.

Owner John Singleton said it was a special performance and was full of praise for both horse and trainer alike.

“Can you imagine racing without her [Waterhouse], you can’t it’s just impossible.”

Today’s victory squashes any doubt over More Joyous who received plenty of criticism after running 11th in last year’s race on a heavy track.

The $1.2 million Doncaster winner’s purse takes the superstar’s career prize money to nearly $4 million.

The Doncaster may be over for another year but there is still plenty of great racing action across the country this weekend.

Sign up to today quoting the code BONUSBET to take advantage of their $300 bonus bet offer and access top odds on all the nation’s best racing!

2012 Doncaster Mile – Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 2 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 10 57.5kg $3.70F
2 3 SHOOT OUT Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 0.8L 8 56.5kg $7.50
3 16 YOSEI Stuart Webb Ms Michelle Payne 1.1L 1 52kg $31
4 6 SINCERO Stephen Farley Craig Williams 1.2L 5 55.5kg $8
5 19 FAST CLIP Gai Waterhouse Jim Cassidy 1.3L 3 52kg $26
6 21 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara Jay Ford 1.4L 17 52kg $31
7 5 ALBERT THE FAT Chris Waller Steven Arnold 2.8L 6 55.5kg $41
8 10 SECRET ADMIRER Grahame Begg Brenton Avdulla 3.5L 19 54kg $9.50
9 17 ABSOLUTELY Michael Kent Luke Nolen 3.8L 13 52kg (cd 52.5kg) $51
10 1 RANGIRANGDOO (NZ) Chris Waller Michael Rodd 3.9L 15 58kg $17
11 22 ALL LEGAL Kevin Moses Ms Kathy O’Hara 4L 9 52kg $151
12 14 MONTON Ron Quinton Craig Newitt 4.4L 16 52.5kg $21
13 11 CENTENNIAL PARK (NZ) David Payne Blake Shinn 5L 2 54kg $81
14 8 HAPPY ZERO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James McDonald 5.5L 18 54.5kg $71
15 7 DANLEIGH Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 7.4L 7 55kg $41
16 13 HURTLE MYRTLE Matthew Smith Glyn Schofield 7.6L 12 53kg $11
17 15 HE’S REMARKABLE (NZ) Roger James Christian Reith 8.3L 4 52.5kg $31
18 9 WALL STREET (NZ) Michael Moroney Damien Oliver 10L 11 54.5kg $26
19 18 NIAGARA Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 16.3L 14 52kg $8.50

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field