Doncaster Mile 2012 Final Field – 22 Acceptances

April 17, 2012

Doncaster Mile 2012 Final Field – 22 Acceptances

A 22-horse final field has been accepted to contest the 2012 Doncaster Mile at Royal Randwick Racecourse this Saturday, the iconic handicap clash shaping up as a battle between Sydney trainers Chris Waller and Gai Waterhouse.

Gai Waterhouse

Gai Waterhouse hasaccepted for three horses in the 2012 Doncaster Mile field

Waller will be represented by four from his stables in this year’s edition of the $2 million Group 1 BMW Doncaster Mile (1600m), the dedicated horseman out for his third win in the classic.

2010 Doncaster Mile winner Rangirangdoo is back for another shot and will wear the No. 1 saddlcloth on Saturday carrying the 58kg topweight.

Waller originally looked to skip the Doncaster with the veteran seven-year-old because of the weight, but decided to give Rangirangdoo another shot because they were travelling so well and the end of their racing career was looming.

The best fancied of Waller’s quartet is his recent Chipping Norton Stakes winner Shoot Out who will be ridden by Hugh Bowman.

Rounding out the Waller-trained hopefuls are then fellow Group 1 winners Danleigh who will carry 55kg with Kerrin McEvoy aboard, and last spring’s Emirates Stakes winner Albert The Fat.

While Waller plays a strong hand so does the piping hot Waterhouse out for her fourth Group 1 success in as many weeks.

Waterhouse vies for an incredible seventh Doncaster Mile success, which would see her equal the record set by her late father and immortal trainer Tommy Smith.

“It would be nice if I could do it,” Waterhouse said.

“At least having three good horses in it you’ve got three good chances, don’t you?

“They are three completely different horses but they are all in good form.”

Topping Waterhouse’s three-horse Doncaster Mile 2012 contingent and the Doncaster Mile odds at is More Joyous fresh off her sixth Group 1 victory in the Queen Of The Turf Stakes.

A bog track ruined More Joyous’ chances in last year’s Doncaster when she finished a well-beaten 11th behind Sacred Choice as the beaten favourite, and all eyes are on the Sydney skies to see whether it will be another rain-affected track for the glamour mare this weekend.

Waterhouse’s other chances of preparing a seventh Doncaster Mile winner are then improving Encosta De Lago colt Niagara with Tommy Berry to ride, and last Saturday’s Doncaster Prelude winner Fast Clip who will be ridden by Jim Cassidy – both on the 52kg minimum.

Berry was aboard Snippetson four-year-old Fast Clip for their Prelude win on the weekend but has opted to stick with Ajax Stakes winner Niagara on Saturday.

The other big name players in the 20-starter, two-emergency Doncaster Mile field include narrow George Ryder Stakes runner-up Rekindled Interest, dual Group 1 winner Sincero, the Grahame Begg-trained Secret Admirer, Peter Moody’s miler King’s Rose and Kiwi galloper He’s Remarkable.

Stay tuned for the Doncaster Mile barrier draw and updated odds to be released shortly.

Get ready for the action this Saturday by signing up with our preferred online bookmaker – – today and you could enjoy a juicy $300 Bonus Bet!

All you need to do is follow the link to, follow the prompts to sign-up and enter the promo code BONUSBET when asked!

2012 Doncaster Mile Final Field

Royal Randwick – 21/04/2012

# Horse Trainer Jockey Weight
1 RANGIRANGDOO (NZ) Chris Waller Michael Rodd 58kg
2 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 57.5kg
3 Shoot Out Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 56.5kg
4 REKINDLED INTEREST Jim Conlan Dwayne Dunn 55.5kg
5 ALBERT THE FAT Chris Waller Steven Arnold 55.5kg
6 SINCERO Stephen Farley Craig Williams 55.5kg
7 DANLEIGH Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 55kg
8 HAPPY ZERO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James McDonald 54.5kg
9 WALL STREET (NZ) Michael Moroney Damien Oliver 54.5kg
10 SECRET ADMIRER Grahame Begg Brenton Avdulla 54kg
11 CENTENNIAL PARK (NZ) David Payne Blake Shinn 54kg
12 KING’S ROSE (NZ) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 53.5kg
13 HURTLE MYRTLE Matthew Smith Glyn Schofield 53kg
14 MONTON Ron Quinton Craig Newitt 52.5kg
15 HE’S REMARKABLE (NZ) Roger James Christian Reith 52kg
16 YOSEI Stuart Webb Michelle Payne 52kg
17 ABSOLUTELY Michael Kent 52kg
18 NIAGARA Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 52kg
19 FAST CLIP Gai Waterhouse Jim Cassidy 52kg
20 SINGLE Craig Carmody Nathan Berry 52kg
21 EMG HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara 52kg
22 EMG ALL LEGAL Kevin Moses Kathy O’Hara 52kg

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Waller’s fillies dominat...

California Turbo among 2018 Gu...

California Turbo among 2018 Gunsynd Classic nominations

Queensland Derby hopeful California Turbo is among the twenty-two nominations...

Impending heads up 2018 Victor...

Impending heads up 2018 Victory Stakes Nominations

Last year’s Stradbroke Handicap winner Impending heads up the nominations for...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool included in 2018 J H B Carr Stakes nominations

Victorian filly So Far Sokool is included in the sixteen nominations for the...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field