2012 Queanbeyan Cup Nominations

It may not be a black-type or have much prize money on offer but you can bet that this Sunday’s Queanbeyan Cup 2012 attracts plenty of attention from both local and interstate punters.

The $35,000 handicap is run over 2000-metres and offers a BOBS & BOBS Extra Bonus of $10,000 to eligible runners.

There were 18 Queanbeyan Cup nominees for 2012, the top-rated of which is the Graeme Rogerson-trained Barlagarney.

A rising nine-year-old the Danehill gelding improved on their two dead last finishes earlier in the summer to finish an eye-catching second behind Izababe in the Wellington Cup (1700m) last time out on March 25.

Gai Waterhouse is the other big-name trainer represented in the early entries having nominated for her Drama Critic five-year-old Two For Tea.

Other top-rated nominations include recent Armindale Cup winner Zippy Zariz, the Gwenda Markwell-trained Linbob, last year’s Queanbeayn Cup runner-up The Patriot and Mick Smith’s in-form Street Cry mare Street Spirit.

Some of the top local hopes aside from Street Spirit include the Frank Cleary-trained Benny’s Jet and Honours List gelding Hey Porter.

Meanwhile the Grant Allard-trained Merwaan is the sole last-start winner nominated, the Fusaichi Pegasus six-year-old coming off a tight victory over 2000-metres at Canberra last Friday.

The 2012 Queanbeyan Cup is one of county’s New South Wale’s true provincial cup clashes so make sure you don’t miss out on the action.

It’s not just the metro Group features that our preferred online bookie bookmaker.com.au offers the best odds on, they also cover the midweeks and others including the Queanbeyan Cup.

So support country racing and earn yourself a pretty penny by having a punt on the Queanbeyan Cup online through bookmaker.com.au – home of the famous $300!

2012 Queanbeyan Cup Nominations

Queanbeyan – 22/04/2012

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 BARLAGARNEY Graeme Rogerson 83
2 BAZARDO Guntis Lukss 33
3 BENNY’S JET Frank Cleary 55
4 HEY PORTER Darren Bailey 54
5 KARIZ Mike Petrovic
6 LINBOB Gwenda Markwell 65
7 MERWAAN Grant Allard 55
9 RYPE Joe Cleary 45
10 SPENCE Lisa Cohen & Oldrich Jiricka 56
11 STATE GENERAL Lionel Cohen 56
12 STEALAPIPE Bob Onikul
13 STREET SPIRIT Mick J Smith 60
14 THE PATRIOT Luke Price 65
15 TWO FOR TEA (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 80
16 UNCTUOUS Bindi Cheers 67
17 YONDERSTAR Jarrod Austin 65
18 ZIPPY ZARIZ Bindi Cheers 74