The Galaxy 2012 Nominations Released

April 16, 2012

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The Galaxy 2012 Nominations Released

The official list of 2012 The Galaxy nominations for this Saturday at Royal Randwick’s Doncaster Mile Day has now been released by the Australian Turf Club (ATC) with 24 hopefuls making up the early entries for the handicap clash.


Last year's runner-up Thankgodyou'rehere will look to go one better in the 2012 The Galaxy on Saturday

It is a star-studded list of sprinters heading towards the famous Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival feature, the $350,000 Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m) to run alongside the $2 million Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m) and $550,000 Group 1 ATC Oaks (2400m) as Saturday’s elite level triple-shot.

There is no shortage of Group performers in the mix for The Galaxy win this Saturday, last year’s edition of the race won by the Darren Smith-trained Atomic Force over Thankgodyou’rehere and Cardinal Virtue.

While Atomic Force is not in the mix this year the 2011 The Galaxy runner-up Thankgodyou’rehere and third placed Cardinal Virtue have both been nominated.

Thankgodyou’re here will be racing first-up for the season, the six-year-old last seen running second to subsequent Oakleigh Plate winner Woorim in the Group 3 TAB.Com.Au Stakes (1400m) at Flemington back on Victoria Derby Day.

Cardinal Virtue has only raced once in the last year, David Payne’s Elusive Quality stallion resuming after an 11 and a half month spell to finish sixth behind Rain Affair in the Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1100m) at Rosehill on March 31.

Payne has also nominated for Winter King who comes off a well-beaten second behind Zaratone in the Group 3 Sebring Stakes (1100m) from Golden Slipper Day, last year’s The Galaxy winner Atomic Force having run fourth in the Sebring before their Group 1 triumph.

Sebring Stakes winner Zaratone is also nominated for The Galaxy 2012.

Other last-start winners among The Galaxy nominations include Sue Grills‘ Queensland raider Border Rebel, Eskimo Prince takes winner Nobby Snip out for their fourth straight, and Anthony Cummings’ up-and-coming filly Ain’t She Grand.

The three-year-olds are also likely to be well represented in the race with other notable nominees from the younger age group including Clarry Conners’ smart daughter of Flying Spur Satin Shoes coming off a second in the Challenge Stakes, Oakleigh Plate runner-up Elite Falls, the Gerald Ryan-trained Hot Snitzel and Michael Moroney’s Johannesburg colt African Pulse.

Other big name entries include the consistent Bel Sprinter coming off a Challenge Stakes fourth, reigning Group 1 The Goodwood winner Lone Rock, and another elite level winner in Coolmore Classic champ Ofcourseican.

The Galaxy final field of acceptances is due for release on Wednesday with to publish the complete line-up and barrier draw.

Get ready for the Doncaster Mile Day racing and betting action now by opening an account with the online bookie offering its first time depositing customers a $300 Bonus Bet – – simply quote the codeword BONUSBET upon sign-up!

2012 The Galaxy Nominations

Royal Randwick – 21/04/2012

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 AFRICAN PULSE Michael Moroney 90
2 AIN’T SHE GRAND Anthony Cummings 72
3 BEL SPRINTER Jason Warren 105
4 BORDER REBEL Sue Grills 102
5 CARDINAL VIRTUE David Payne 95
6 EAGLE FALLS David Hayes 108
7 ELITE FALLS John O’Shea 103
8 HOT SNITZEL Gerald Ryan 105
9 LADYS ANGEL Joseph Pride 98
10 LONE ROCK Robert Smerdon 109
11 MIC MAC Paul Messara 108
12 NEWS ALERT Joseph Pride 102
13 NOBBY SNIP Gai Waterhouse 96
14 OFCOURSEICAN Ron Quinton 109
15 PAMPELONNE Tim Martin 78
16 RIEBEEK Stephen Hill 82
17 SATIN SHOES Clarry Conners 103
18 SECOND EFFORT Clinton McDonald 94
19 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan 106
20 THANKGODYOU’REHERE Patrick & Wayne Webster 106
21 TITLE Joseph Pride 105
22 VARENNA MISS Tony Noonan 104
23 WINTER KING (NZ) David Payne 100
24 ZARATONE Nick Olive 101

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Pierata heads up final field f...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fan...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fancies hoping for middle of the field barriers

Connections of the two favourites for the 2018 $2m Magic Millions 2yo Classic...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 K...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 Kingston Town Classic

Prominent Perth owner Bob Peters has four runners to try to give him his fifth...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field