Top Class George Ryder Stakes 2012 Nominations

April 2, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Top Class George Ryder Stakes 2012 Nominations

One of the key support races on a crack all Group race card for Golden Slipper Day at Rosehill this Saturday will be the 2012 George Ryder Stakes that has drawn Group 1 winners aplenty at nomination stage.


Rangirangdoo is nominated to defend their title in the 2012 George Ryder Stakes this Saturday

A total of 23 gallopers make up the early entries for the $400,000 Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m), a race won 12 months ago by Chris Waller’s injury-prone champ Rangirangdoo.

Waller has nominated Rangirangdoo to defend their George Ryder Stakes title in 2012 after the veteran seven-year-old enjoyed a brilliant last-start second when defeated a nose by Manighar in the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) at Rosehill on March 24.

Rangirangdoo is one of four George Ryder Stakes nominees for Waller along with reigning Emirates Stakes winner Albert The Fat, last-start Chipping Norton Stakes runner-up Danleigh and Canterbury Stakes third placed Metal Bender.

Last year’s George Ryder Stakes runner-up Love Conquers All has also been nominated again this year, the Hawkes-trained Mossman stallion having resumed racing with a credible first-up fifth behind Gai Waterhouse’s 2012 Doncaster Mile-bound More Joyous in the Group 2 Canterbury Stakes (1300m).

In the George Ryder on Saturday Waterhouse could be represented by her other Doncaster Mile hopeful, Niagara.

The up-and-coming Encosta De Lago colt moved into top spot in the markets for the $2 million Group 1 Doncaster Mile Handicap (1600m) at Randwick on April 21 after their authoritative three and a half length win in the Group 2 Ajax Stakes over the George Ryder Stakes track and distance last Saturday.

Co-favourite at $8 through to win the Doncaster Mile, the Peter Moody-trained King’s Rose is also nominated for the George Ryder Stakes.

The former Kiwi mare, second to Albert The Fat in last year’s Emirates Stakes, will be third-up for the season on Saturday and was last seen finishing a close third to Ofcourseican in the Group 1 Coolmore Classic (1500m) at Rosehill on March 24.

Ron Quinton’s Coolmore Classic winner Ofcourseican is one of three last-start winners nominated for the George Ryder this year along with the aforementioned Niagara, and the Roger James-trained New Zealander He’s Remarkable who resumed with a win in the Group 3 Newcastle Newmarket Handicap (1400m).

Quinton has also nominated for his consistent Catbird five-year-old Monton, the Group 2 winner returning with a first-up second to More Joyous in the Canterbury.

It is certainly a star-studded list of George Ryder Stakes nominations with other notable hopefuls including last-start Futurity Stakes champ King Mufhasa, Stephen Farley’s dual Group 1 winner Sincero, Rob Heathcote’s maiden Group 1 winner in the Oakleigh Plate Woorim and the Grahame Begg-trained Secret Admirer coming off a close Coolmore Classic second.

The 2012 George Ryder Stakes final field and barrier draw are due for release on Wednesday while final acceptances for the Golden Slipper and The BMW close on Tuesday.

Get all the hottest Golden Slipper Day betting odds and options online at, the online bookmaker offering new customers a $300 Bonus Welcome Bet, available only with use of the promotional code BONUSBET!

2012 George Ryder Stakes Nominations

Rosehill Gardens – 07/04/2012

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ALBERT THE FAT Chris Waller 112
2 ALMA’S FURY Paul Murray
3 CENTENNIAL PARK (NZ) David Payne 108
4 DANLEIGH Chris Waller 112
5 HAPPY ZERO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 110
6 HE’S REMARKABLE (NZ) Roger James 106
7 HUEGILL Peter G Moody 85
8 HURTLE MYRTLE Matthew Smith 110
9 KING MUFHASA (NZ) Stephen Mckee
10 KING’S ROSE (NZ) Peter G Moody 113
11 LOVE CONQUERS ALL Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 112
12 METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller 116
13 MONTON Ron Quinton 108
14 NIAGARA Gai Waterhouse
15 OFCOURSEICAN Ron Quinton 109
16 RANGIRANGDOO (NZ) Chris Waller 117
18 ROCK CLASSIC Bart Cummings 104
19 SECRET ADMIRER Grahame Begg 114
20 SINCERO Stephen Farley 112
21 TRUSTING John P Thompson 112
22 WOORIM Robert Heathcote 111
23 YOSEI Stuart Webb 108

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field