Can Darlington Abbey Stay Unbeaten? – Karrakatta Plate 2012 Field

March 28, 2012

Can Darlington Abbey Stay Unbeaten? – Karrakatta Plate 2012 Field

Unbeaten filly Darlington Abbey will be out to continue her sizzling run when she contests the Group 2 $500,000 2012 Karrakatta Plate at Perth’s Ascot Racecourse this weekend.

The Simon Miller trained horse has been in red hot form since debuting at Pinjarra in late January.

She took top honours in the Magic Millions Perth Classic before finishing ahead of Miss Solis in the Listed Gimcrack Stakes on March 17.

Eighteen horses have been named in the final field for what is as a highly exciting two-year-old race featuring the best young horses in the West.

Miss Solis is another Simon Miller trained filly and she will also come into Saturday’s race in excellent form.

She won her first two races late last year before starting 2012 in sensational fashion with a one-length win in the Listed Supremacy Stakes on March 3.

Despite her recent form, it will be a tough ask to avenge her Gimcrack defeat from Darlington Abbey after drawing the widest barrier of the field.

Highly rated Adelaide filly Alezan Thunder has been named to run but it is yet to be decided whether she will even get to Perth and is relying on a flight from Melbourne being available today or tomorrow.

She has also been named to contest the Marsh Breeders Stakes at Morphetville but if she does make the trip to Perth she will bring plenty of quality with her.

The Mark Kavanagh trained horse ran second in the famous Gold Coast Magic Millions in January and is coming off a runner-up finish in the Listed Pewsey Vale Stakes at Morphetville.

Another of the local hopes is Luke’s Luck who finished second to Miss Solis in the Supremacy Stakes and ran a respectable fourth in the Perth Stakes last start.

The winner of the Perth Stakes was El Rijes and the gelding will be looking to back that up when he runs from barrier three in the Karrakatta Plate this Saturday.

Markets will be open shortly for the Karakatta Plate and the place to find the best value odds is

Never used the Australian owned bookie before? Then sign today quoting the code BONUSBET to take advantage of their sensational $300 bonus bet offer!

2012 Karrakatta Plate – Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 155971 EL RIJES Darren Mcauliffe Peter Hall 3 56.5kg
2 51X24 LUKE’S LUCK Trevor Andrews Shaun Mc Gruddy 13 56.5kg
3 3X4106 MIAMI HORROR Donna Riordan Troy Turner 1 56.5kg
4 31 DETECTION George Daly Steven Parnham 17 56.5kg
5 235 OUR MAXY BOY Daniel Morton Campbell Mc Callum 15 56.5kg
6 13132 ALEZAN THUNDER Sam Kavanagh Stephen Baster 14 54.5kg
7 111 DARLINGTON ABBEY Simon A Miller Paul Harvey 4 54.5kg
8 11X12 MISS SOLIS Simon A Miller Patrick Carbery 18 54.5kg
9 21X013 FUDDLE DEE DUDDLE Lindsey Smith Peter Knuckey 5 54.5kg
10 21 KEEPER QUIET Daniel Pearce Clint Harvey 11 54.5kg
11 12 LOOKING AHEAD Kellie Grantham Shaun O’Donnell 2 54.5kg
12 4X15 THE DANEHILL ROSE Bob McPherson Shaun Meeres 9 54.5kg
13 481X0 KEEP FATH Neville Parnham Brad Parnham 7 54.5kg
14 134 SECRET SCANDAL Daniel Morton William Pike 6 54.5kg
15 29X492 SPICE AGAIN Simon A Miller Jason Whiting 10 54.5kg
16 8321 FINE COPPER Shane A Edwards Craig Staples 16 54.5kg
17e 1 NOTHING PERSONAL Chris Gangemi TBA 8 56.5kg
18e 7X23 KOROLENKO Steve Wolfe Jason Brown 12 56.5kg

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field