Australian Derby 2012 Nominations Headed by Mosheen

March 14, 2012

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Australian Derby 2012 Nominations Headed by Mosheen

An impressive field of three-year-olds have been nominated for the 2012 Australian Derby which will take place at Royal Randwick Racecourse on April 14.

Eighty horses were yesterday nominated to run in the $1.5 million Group 1 stayer’s race (2400m) including Australian Guineas winner Mosheen and outstanding New Zealand Derby champion Silent Achiever, who will make her first trip across the Tasman.


Mosheen heads Australian Derby Nominations

Mosheen will run in the Randwick Guineas this weekend and the filly is fresh off an inspiring victory in the Australian Guineas where she came from the outside barrier to beat a quality field.

The Robert Smerdon trained Fastnet Rock filly has impressed remarkably so far, having already collected over $2 million in prize money.

Silent Achiever is also a filly and will come to Sydney for the Australian Derby on the back of five wins from seven starts in New Zealand.

She never looked challenged when winning her last start in the New Zealand derby by two and a half lengths on March 3.

Last year’s Victoria Derby winner Sangster is another quality New Zealand horse that has been included in Australian Derby nominations. The gelding will run this Friday in the Alister Clark Stakes at Moonee Valley.

Proliferate will also run in the Alister Clark Stakes on Friday in a bid to revive the promising colt’s Australian Derby campaign following a seventh place finish in the Australian Guineas.

Trainer Mick Price said he made a mistake entering the More Than Ready Colt in the Australian Guineas, considering the end goal is the Australian Derby.

“He’s a stayer and last start he should have run over 1800 (metres), then in the Alister Clark instead of trying to win a Group 1 mile (1600m) which came unstuck,” he said.

“Going from a mile to 2040 metres on Friday night may catch me short with him, but with a view to where we should be going, it is the right race.”

Also included in 2012 Australian Derby nominations are Victoria Derby runner up and third place getter Induna and Sabrage as well as Inglis Spring Champion Stakes winner Doctor Doom.

Plenty of Australian Derby hopefuls will be running at either Moonee Valley or Randwick this weekend and to get the best odds on the promising horses, be sure to visit

They are our favourite bookmaker due to their sensational prices and amazing $300 bonus bet offer for new customers.

Being rewarded with the bonus bet is easy, simply enter the code BONUSBET when you sign up at today!

2012 Australian Derby – Nominations

Horse Trainer
1 AD VICTORIAM Neville & Christopher Voigt
2 ADENARIUS Lee Curtis
4 AMBIDEXTER Peter Snowden
5 BACKBONE Michael Kent
6 BENFICA Peter Snowden
7 BIG TIME Chris Waller
8 BIOGRAPHICAL Gai Waterhouse
10 CHICHARITA (NZ) Michael Moroney
11 COMPASS Gai Waterhouse
12 DANY THE FOX (NZ) Michael Kent
13 DARCI BE GOOD (NZ) Bede Murray
14 DEFENCEMAN Robert Heathcote
15 DOCTOR DOOM Guy Walter
16 DUBOSC (NZ) Kevin Myers
17 DUEL LOVER (NZ) Nigel Blackiston
18 DURNFORD Pat Carey
19 ENABLING (NZ) Robert Hickmott
20 ETHIOPIA Pat Carey
21 FALCONER Bart Cummings
22 FAT AL Gai Waterhouse
23 FLASH ALBERT Anthony Cummings
24 FLASHY FELLA (NZ) Michael Moroney
25 FREE WHEELING Peter Snowden
26 GALAH Peter Snowden
27 GRAND SAI WAN Anthony Cummings
28 HEAVEN’S RICHES Robbie Laing
30 HOYLONNY Chris Waller
31 I FEEL GOOD Frankie Stockdale
32 IGGI POP (NZ) John O’Shea
33 IMPERIAL GRAND Anthony Cummings
34 INDUNA Peter Snowden
35 ISOPACH John P Thompson
36 JOY’S CHOICE (NZ) Graeme & Debbie Rogerson
37 JUSTWARMINGUP (NZ) Michael Kent
38 KING SAUL Trevor Andrews
39 KUKRI Peter Snowden
40 LASER HAWK Gai Waterhouse
41 LUCRIPETOUS (NZ) Chris Waller
42 MERLIN MUSTANG Michael J Murphy
44 MOSHEEN Robert Smerdon
45 NICONOISE David Hayes
46 ON EVERY LEVEL Scott Aspery
47 OUTLAW PRINCE Anthony Cummings
48 PETER PIPER (NZ) John Sargent
49 POLISH Bart Cummings
50 POLISH KNIGHT (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
51 PRACTICED Robert Hickmott
53 RAPIDUS (NZ) Bart Cummings
55 ROCK ’N’ POP Jason Bridgman
56 SABRAGE Michael Moroney
57 SAID COM (NZ) Chris Waller
58 SANGSTER (NZ) Trent Busuttin
59 SATIRICAL BOY Gai Waterhouse
60 SCELTO (NZ) Robbie Laing
61 SHE GOES TO RIO (NZ) Anthony Cummings
63 SLIVOVITZ Kris Lees
64 SPECTER Anthony Freedman
65 STRAWBERRY BOY Gai Waterhouse
66 STRIKE THE STARS (NZ) Anthony Cummings
67 SUPREME WARRIOR (NZ) Leon Corstens
68 SYSMO (FR) Tony McEvoy
69 THAT’S THE ONE Colin & Cindy Alderson
70 THE GREAT SNOWMAN (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
71 THY (NZ) Peter G Moody
72 TOHUNGA (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
73 TONED Robert Hickmott
75 TOWER OF LONHRO Jason Warren
76 TRAPUNTO Peter Snowden
77 VATUVEI Peter G Moody
78 WIZ Jason Deamer
80 ZABEELIONAIRE (NZ) Leon Corstens

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field