Aspiration Quality 2012 Field Features Sydney Cup Hopes

Two horses that featured in the 2012 Sydney Cup nominations this week will take their next step towards that goal in this Saturday’s $100,000 Listed Aspiration Quality (1600m) at Royal Randwick Guineas Day.


2012 Sydney Cup nominee Galizani will race in the Aspiration Quality at Randwick Guineas Day

Gai Waterhouse’s Older Than Time and the John Thompson-trained Galizani were two of the 81 stayers nominated for next month’s $500,000 Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m), and both have also been accepted for the 2012 Happy St Patricks Day Aspiration Quality this Saturday.

Kicking off the top eight-race Randwick Guineas Day program at 1:00pm (NSW time), the 2012 Aspiration Quality field features 15 hopefuls in total with Don Eduardo mare Older Than Time and Galizani to wear saddlecloths one and two.

Drawn in barrier six with Nash Rawiller booked for the ride, last year’s Sydney Cup runner-up Older Than Time resumed racing this month with a first up third behind Red Tracer and Crafty Irna in the Group 3 Millie Fox Stakes (1300m) on a suitably Heavy (9) Rosehill track on March 3.

Third placegetter in the race Crafty Irna is also backing up in the Aspiration Quality, Ron Quinton’s four-year-old Starcraft mare drawn wide in barrier 13 with Hugh Bowman aboard, as is the fourth-placed Galizani.

Jay Ford is engaged to ride Galizani from their barrier two draw on Saturday, the Galileo five-year-old looking to enter the winner’s stall for the  first time since October 15 last year, which was also the last time they raced at Randwick.

Other notable horses in the 2012 Aspiration Quality field that will be looking to win the first at Randwick on Saturday include the Grahame Begg-trained Wiggle Stakes fourth placegetter from last Saturday Cabernet, Waterhouse’s other runner Upon This Rock racing at stakes level for the first time since May 2010, Matthew Dale’s in-form four-year-old Sydney’s Destiny and the John O’Shea-trained duo of Think Mink and Tigress Lily.

The full Happy St Patricks Day Aspiration Quality field, barrier draw and jockeys can be found below.

Betting markets on all of the Randwick Guineas Day races will be opening at the country’s leading online bookie shortly, so don’t delay join today!

If this is your first time betting online with, make sure you use the exclusive promo code BONUSBET when joining to unlock a $300 Bonus Bet!

2012 Aspiration Quality Final Field & Barrier Draw

Randwick Race 1 – 1:00pm – 17/03/2012

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 2X065300X3 OLDER THAN TIME Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 6 59kg 100
2 X007810X84 GALIZANI John P Thompson Jay Ford 2 58kg 98
3 517X5620X2 CRAFTY IRNA Ron Quinton Hugh Bowman 13 56.5kg 95
4 10X4532154 CABERNET Grahame Begg Michael Rodd 5 55kg 92
5 2419X3579X FIBRILLATION Tim Martin Brenton Avdulla 1 54kg 90
6 6651X8909X MIRRASALO Paul Messara Ms Kathy O’Hara 8 54kg 89
7 3112X74635 SIENNA RED Joseph Pride Corey Brown 15 54kg 80
8 2100X868X8 RUBINACCI Joseph Pride Luke Nolen 14 54kg 79
9 3293X15416 THINK MINK (NZ) John O’Shea Jim Cassidy 7 54kg 79
10 X997021614 TIGRESS LILY John O’Shea Blake Shinn 9 54kg 79
11 692322X152 UPON THIS ROCK Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 4 54kg 79
12 2111732X32 BRIGHTEST Guy Walter Rod Quinn 12 54kg 77
13 33X4113X82 DANCING ATTENDANCE Guy Walter Nathan Berry 3 54kg 71
14 135X1112 SYDNEY’S DESTINY Matthew Dale Craig Williams 11 54kg 69
15 6X42601X36 SONG SHAN Anthony Cummings Peter Robl 10 54kg 66