Canberra Cup 2012 – Zavite Heads Nominations

March 7, 2012

Canberra Cup 2012 – Zavite Heads Nominations

Anthony Cummings trained Zavite heads the nominations for the 2012 Canberra Cup which sits as the second feature event of a big Sunday of racing in the nation’s capital.

The New Zealand gelding has an impressive resume to his name, having won the Launceston, Adelaide and Auckland Cups as well as the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes.

He has also run in two Melbourne Cups and Cummings believes the Canberra Cup conditions will suit the nine-year-old who is on his way to try and defend his Ranvet Stakes title.

Zavite & Descarado

Zavite (Inside) is one of a number of quality horses nominated for the 2012 Canberra Cup

If named in the final field today, despite carrying 62kg, the winner of more than $1.9 million in prize money will be tough to beat in the 2000 metre stayers’ race.

Apart from Zavite, plenty of other quality horses have been nominated for the $200,000 Listed event.

Niwot is one of those, having run in the 2011 Melbourne Cup and the seven-year-old gelding has 8 wins from 21 starts.

Prolific trainer Gai Waterhouse’s New Zealand gelding Tullamore has been nominated and is coming off a sixth-place effort in his first up effort in the Apollo Stakes on February 25.

The five-year-old stayer has recorded five victories from 26 outings and four of those have come at distances over 2000 metres.

King Diamond is another quality gelding nominated for the 2012 Canberra Cup and it is believed leading jockey Danny Nikolic will be in the saddle on Sunday, as he has been for the five-year-old’s last two hit outs.

The Peter Moody trained horse is coming off an eighth-place finish in the Peter Young Stakes and has five career wins from 17 starts.

Other horses included in 2012 Canberra Cup nominations are Rainbow Styling, Budai, Bid Spotter and Big Time.

A total of 27 horses have been nominated to run with the field limit set at 16.

The market for the 2012 Canberra Cup will be released later in the week and the best odds will be found at

They are home of the innovative Quickbet technology and are Australian owned and operated.

If you sign up today using the code BONUSBET, they will even reward you with a $300 Bonus Bet Offer.

2012 Canberra Cup – Nominations

Horse Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings 1 62kg 111
2 NIWOT Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 2= 59kg 105
3 TULLAMORE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 2= 59kg 105
4 RAINBOW STYLING (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 4 57kg 101
5 BUDAI (GER) David Hayes 5 56kg 99
6 KING DIAMOND Peter G Moody 6 55kg 97
7 BID SPOTTER Graeme Rogerson 7 54.5kg 96
8 AGENT BAUER Gwenda Markwell 22 54kg 70
9 BIG TIME Chris Waller 17= 54kg 75
10 BILLYBOUGG Keith Dryden 26 54kg 63
11 COLISEO Norm Gardner 20= 54kg 73
12 DEALER PRINCIPAL Anthony Cummings 13 54kg 86
13 DEBECCA Stephen Hutchinson 23 54kg 68
14 DIAMOND JIM David Payne 16 54kg 76
15 DIGITAL FORTRESS (NZ) Guy Walter 17= 54kg 75
16 FILL THE PAGE Barbara Joseph & Paul Jones 17= 54kg 75
17 MICALONG Mick Miladinovic 24 54kg 66
18 OVER QUOTA Mark Webb 8= 54kg 95
19 PALASPORT Gregory Hickman 15 54kg 80
20 PRAECIDO (NZ) David Payne 10= 54kg 94
21 REBEL SOLDIER (IRE) David Hayes 12 54kg 89
22 SANDBERG Guy Walter 20= 54kg 73
23 SHARP PRINCESS (NZ) Bjorn Baker 10= 54kg 94
24 SOLID BILLING Craig Ritchie 8= 54kg 95
25 TO DUBAWI GO Neil Osborne 25 54kg 65
26 WATERTIGHT Robert Price 27 54kg 62
27 WORLD WIDE Bede Murray 14 54kg 85

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field