Prevailing Wins Launceston Cup 2012 – Results an Upset

February 29, 2012

Prevailing Wins Launceston Cup 2012 – Results an Upset

As expected the 2012 Launceston Cup winner was a local, just not the local the punters were backing as the David & Scott Brunton-trained Prevailing upset the firm favourite Geegees Blackflash to take out the popular summer staying showdown on Wednesday afternoon.

Despite their excellent form at the Launceston track, including their last-start win over 2100-metres there on February 15, Secret Savings seven-year-old Prevailing went out at juicy odds of $10.40 at Luxbet to win the $225,000 Group 3 AA MI Launceston Cup (2400m).

A patiently-timed ride from jockey Anthony Darmanin and a devastating turn of foot from the horse itself saw Prevailing score a narrow quarter-length victory in the Launceston Cup over the John Luttrell-trained Geegees Blackflash ($3.90) in a brilliant last-to-first effort, Patrick Payne’s $3.40 favourite Fieldmaster finishing off the trifecta a further length away in third.

In a race that had no real speed with Colonial Gold racing away to a huge early lead five lengths in front at the 1600-metres while the rest of the runner settled well back off the muddling pace, last-start Hobart Cup winner and lead-up favourite Geegees Blackflash turned the Launceston Cup into a genuine staying test.

Geegees Blackflash’s jockey Peter Mertens was obviously unhappy with the speed and made a daring move to drive the hefty 60kg topweight to the front of the field to snare the lead and set their own pace.

Having run fifth throughout, Geegees Blackflash hit the front with 800-metres to go and things quickly sped up with the field finally bunching up.

The late backed favourite Fieldmaster with Michelle Payne in the mount then moved out from the fence still in fourth position while Geegees Blackflash continued to race in the lead with Colonial Gold fading.

With 400-metres left to go eventual winner Prevailing started their run up wide on the outside.

At the top of the straight Geegees Blackflash looked like they were going to be too good, but Prevailing came home hard and snared the win.

Geegees Blackflash put in a bold and daring run, but just didn’t have enough in the tank to hold off the fast-finishing Prevailing.

To view the full 2012 Launceston Cup results and how your bets paid, hit up Luxbet now.

The country’s ace online bookie, Luxbet are also offering all new depositing customers a $400 bonus bet making now the time to join and quote the code BONUSBET!

2012 Launceston Cup Results & Finishing Order

Launceston Race 7 – 29/02/2012

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 9 PREVAILING David & Scott Brunton Anthony Darmanin 9 54kg $10.40
2 1 GEEGEES BLACKFLASH John Luttrell Peter Mertens 0.3L 7 60kg $3.90
3 5 FIELDMASTER (NZ) Patrick Payne Ms Michelle Payne 1.3L 3 54.5kg $3.40F
4 6 VIKING HERO Michael Moroney Glen Boss 3.3L 6 54.5kg $5.60
5 7 DREAM FLYER Troy Blacker Craig Newitt 4.6L 4 54kg $4.50
6 11 COLONIAL GOLD Gary White Ms Nikita McLean 6.4L 1 54kg $49.80
7 2 DREAM PEDLAR Troy Blacker Dwayne Dunn 6.6L 8 58.5kg $13.50
8 10 MR ISAAC Gary White Jarrod Todd 6.8L 5 54kg $36.50
9 12 FUGITIVE LASS Michael Voss David Pires 14.8L 2 54kg $102.50
4 ROI D’JEU (NZ) Shaune Ritchie Stephen Maskiell 0
3 SEA GALLEON Colin & Cindy Alderson Ben Melham 0
8 KEEP CONTROL Darren Weir Dean Yendall 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field