Caulfield Race Results – Manighar Is 2012 Carlyon Cup Winner

February 11, 2012

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Caulfield Race Results – Manighar Is 2012 Carlyon Cup Winner

Manighar has continued his first-up success to win the 2012 Carlyon Cup at Caulfield racecourse on CF Orr Stakes Day today.

The six-year-old gelding, who is now trained in Australia by Peter Moody, won the race in front of Shadowfax, who placed second, and Veewap, who finished third.

Manighar finished fifth in the $6 million Melbourne Cup last spring before placing second behind Americain in the Group 2 Zipping Classic last start.

The Linamix gelding paid odds of $8 to win the race at Luxbet.

Moody felt Manighar could perform well over the 2012 Carlyon Cup’s 1,600 metres coming into the race.

“We came here with an open mind,” Moody said.

“He’s been going nicely at home.

“The last couple of weeks he’s started to show a turn of foot so I suggested to the boys it wouldn’t be silly to run him in a mile type race.”

Manighar will now go on towards the Group 1 Australian Cup on March 10, 2012, and The BMW on April 7, 2012.

“He’ll go to the Australian Cup and The BMW,” Moody said.

“They’re his two targets.”

Moody also commented on the mighty Black Caviar, who will be attempting to claim her 18th unbeaten win in the 2012 CF Orr Stakes later today.

“The big mare’s well,” he said.

“She arrived safely.”

New owner Terry Henderson credited Manighar’s old trainer Luca Cumani with a great deal of today’s success.

“Luca always said the horse would respond to the Australian way of training,” Henderson said.

“He’s a world class trainer for a very good reason, it’s fantastic when you can get a trainer like him and a trainer like Peter Moody to work together.”

Jockey Luke Nolen rode Manighar to today’s 2012 Carlyon Cup win.

“We ended up in a nice spot off a fair tempo early,” Nolen said.

“I was travelling like the winner a long way from home.

“I though first go at a mile the effort was very good and is the platform for what will hopefully be a (successful) preparation.”

Don’t forget to open an account with Luxbet to receive the best odds and betting information for the rest of today’s racing at Caulfield and Rosehill.

Luxbet are giving away a bonus bet worth up to $400 to new customers who enter the exclusive promo code BONUSBET.

So open an account right away and claim your bonus bet now!

2012 Carlyon Cup Results & Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 10 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 7 56kg $8
2 4 SHADOWFAX (NZ) Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 1.75L 11 57kg $8
3 9 VEEWAP Tony Vasil Mark Zahra 3.25L 3 56.5kg $14
4 3 KING DIAMOND Peter G Moody Danny Nikolic 4L 2 57kg $41
5 2 RANGER Grant Williams Craig Williams 4.2L 12 57.5kg $3.40F
6 14 STOLE (NZ) Brian Jenkins Kerrin McEvoy 4.3L 10 54kg $26
7 8 SHOUT OUT LOUD Peter G Moody Dwayne Dunn 5.05L 1 56.5kg $4.40
8 13 VIVID VIXEN (NZ) Mick Price Craig Newitt 6.8L 6 55kg $8.50
9 15 SEDUCED Michael Kent Glen Boss 7.55L 4 54kg $20
10 6 MACEDONIAN (NZ) Peter G Moody Jason Benbow 7.85L 5 56.5kg $151
11 11 BUCCELLATI (GB) Michael Moroney Ms Lisa Cropp 8.6L 8 56kg $201
12 5 LARGO LAD David Hayes Steven Arnold 8.8L 9 56.5kg $17

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Pierata heads up final field f...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fan...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fancies hoping for middle of the field barriers

Connections of the two favourites for the 2018 $2m Magic Millions 2yo Classic...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 K...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 Kingston Town Classic

Prominent Perth owner Bob Peters has four runners to try to give him his fifth...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field