Raiders Dominate Hobart Cup 2012 Nominations

Interstate and international gallopers dominate the 2012 Hobart Cup nominations with early entries for the first major Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival feature closing on Tuesday.

TasRacing took 20 nominations for this year’s edition of the $225,000 Group 3 AAMI Hobart Cup (2200m), which is due to take place at Hobart Racecourse on Sunday February 12.

Of the Hobart Cup 2012 nominees, 14 are trained outside of Tasmania including two Kiwi gallopers with the Kevin Myers-trained Titch and the Shaune Ritchie-trained Roi D’Jeu.

Montjeu six-year-old Roi D’Jeu has never ventured outside of New Zealand but earned a Hobart Cup nomination after their brave second when defeated a nose by Six O’Clock News in the Group 3 Trentham Stakes (2100m) on January 21.

Bjorn Baker’s Montjeu gelding Mr Tipsy became the first Kiwi-trained galloper to contest the Hobart Cup last year, but they were unsuited to the Dead (4) track on the day and finished a well beaten 13th.

Last year’s Hobart Cup winner was the Graeme Rogerson-trained Sydney visitor Bid Spotter, and in 2012 a plethora of interstate raiders will take on the locals again.

The top interstate chances include:

  • The Michael Moroney-trained Group 3 winning Victorian Viking Hero
  • Zabeel seven-year-old and last-start Caulfield winner Rainbow Styling from the Hawkes family’s Rosehill stables
  • The Peter Moody-trained O’Reilly mare Power O’Raylee who has won her last five on the trot in Victoria, most recently at Moonee Valley over 2040m by four lengths last Friday night
  • Danny O’Brien’s classy Savabeel mare Placement

There is also the Patrick Payne-trained Fieldmaster who touched down in Tasmania last night ahead of their Hobart Cup lead-up in the $50,000 Ingham Jockey Club Cup (2100m) at Elwick on Sunday.

“He arrived at Michael and Adam Trinder’s last night and will definitely run at Elwick,” Payne said.

“He’s a capable stayer that can handle all types of tracks but a wet track would be a bonus.

“He’s nothing special but he’s feeling well at the moment and we are very pleased with him.”

Another Jockey Club Cup-bound galloper is the former Chris Waller-trained Alexander Of Hales who has also been paid up at nomination stage for the Hobart Cup by new trainer, the Roches Beach-based Julie Richards.

The best of the seven-horse local Hobart Cup contingent looks to be John Luttrell’s in-form Geegees Blackflash.

Clangalang five-year-old Geegees Blackflash raced away to their fourth consecutive turf triumph on January 22 when beating home Norsqui in the Betfair Summer Cup (2100m) at Hobart by an emphatic six lengths with a hefty 60kg.

“The horse is flying,” Luttrell said.

“I’ve just got to look after him and keep him ticking over for a few more weeks and they’ll know he’s about in the Hobart and Launceston Cups.”

The star Tassie stayer is now almost certain to open the Hobart Cup favourite when betting on the race opens at Luxbet.

The two other most promising Tasmanian-trained Hobart Cup entries this year are then the Stuart Gandy-prepared Jay Bee’s Gee Gee and Troy Blacker’s recent Devonport Cup winner Dream Flyer.

For all the best Hobart Cup field and betting coverage bookmark us here at

When it comes to placing your Tasmanian Summer Carnival bets, make sure you get the hottest prices by betting online with Luxbet.

Right now is the time to join Luxbet as first time depositing customers are being well-rewarded with a $400 bonus bet when they quote the codeword BONUSBET!

2012 Hobart Cup Nominations

Hobart – 12/02/2012

# Horse Trainer
2 APRES Clinton McDonald
3 DREAM FLYER Troy Blacker
4 DRUNKEN SAILOR (IRE) Michael Moroney
5 FIELDMASTER (NZ) Patrick Payne
7 JAY BEE’S GEE GEE Stuart Gandy
8 KEEP CONTROL Darren Weir
9 MR ISAAC Gary White
10 OFORAWESOME (NZ) Michael Kent
11 PERSIAN STAR Robert Smerdon
12 PLACEMENT (NZ) Danny O’Brien
13 POWER O’RAYLEE Peter G Moody
14 RAINBOW STYLING (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
15 ROI D’JEU (NZ) Shaune Ritchie
16 SUCCESS DOSTTA David & Scott Brunton
17 THE NIGHT’S HOT Darren Weir
18 TITCH (NZ) Kevin Myers
19 UBOA Graeme Mcculloch
20 VIKING HERO Michael Moroney