Zeditave Stakes 2012 Nominations

One of four stakes races set to highlight a crack line-up at Caulfield this Australia Day, the 2012 Zeditave Stakes nominations are now out with 16 promising three-year-olds making up the early entries.


TJ Smith winner Benfica is set to resume racing in the 2012 Zeditave Stakes

The $100,000 Listed Zeditave Stakes (1200m), won last year by the Robert Smerdon-trained Éclair Mystic, runs alongside the Blue Diamond Previews on Thursday January 26 this year.

Incredibly there are seven last-start winners among the Zeditave Stakes 2012 nominees, the most notable of which is the Peter Snowden-trained Benfica.

Winner of the Group 1 TJ Smith (1600m) last-start at Eagle Farm back in June, the son of Lonhro Benfica is set to be the Snowden pin-up colt with star stablemates Sepoy and Helmet heading overseas later this year.

Another exciting three-year-old set to run in the Zeditave this year is Michael Moroney’s promising Johannesburg colt African Pulse.

After a Sandown win on debut overcoming a Heavy (10) track back in May, African Pulse finished a close second to Jackpot Queen at Flemington next start before a five and a half month break.

They resumed for one run in the spring beating home Neville Layt’s Magic Millions Classic winning filly Karuta Queen by one and a quarter lengths in a blistering speed display on Melbourne Cup Day and their main autumn aim is the $750,000 Group 1 Lightning Stakes (100m) at Flemington on February 18.

Other top 2012 Zeditave Stakes nominees include:

  • The Robert Hickmott-trained Collar who is tipped to return to form when coming back in distance after failing in the Victoria Derby
  • Danny O’Brien’s last-start Seymour winner Decircles
  • Peter Moody’s Caulfield Guineas third placegetter Huegill
  • The Mick Price-trained Instinction last seen winning the Listed Hilton Hotels Stakes (1400m) at Flemington on Emirates Stakes Day
  • Mark Kavanagh’s undefeated Darci Brahma gelding Pakari Toa who has won both of their career starts to date

View the full 2012 Zeditave Stakes field and barriers, released on Tuesday, by bookmarking us here at Races.com.au.

Get ready for all the upcoming features today by opening your new account with Luxbet and be instantly rewarded with a bonus bet valued up to $400 when you deposit and quote the codeword BONUSBET now!

2012 Zeditave Stakes Nominations

Caulfield 26/01/2012

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ADAMANTIUM (NZ) Danny O’Brien 80
2 AFRICAN PULSE Michael Moroney 84
3 BENFICA Peter Snowden
4 COLLAR (NZ) Robert Hickmott 80
5 DECIRCLES Danny O’Brien 72
6 HOT SPIN Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 82
7 HUEGILL Peter G Moody 86
8 INSTINCTION Mick Price 78
9 IT IS WRITTEN Robbie Griffiths 62
10 MISTER MILTON Norman Waymouth 70
11 NICONOISE David Hayes 64
12 PAKARI TOA (NZ) Mark Kavanagh 68
13 PETMAN John Hyam 78
14 SPECTER Anthony Freedman 84
15 TONED Robert Hickmott 70
16 UNPRETENTIOUS Nikki Burke 66