2012 Magic Millions Classic winner Driefontein on protest

Strongly backed Luxbet favourite Driefontein became the $2m 2012 Magic Millions Classic winner (2YO , 1200m) at the Gold Coast by protest.

Trainer Gai Waterhouse provided the first two past in the 2012 Magic Millions Classic with No Looking Back defeating Driefontein on the track with Alezan Thunder taking third.

However the 2012 Magic Millions Classic will always be remembered for the stewards controversial intervention.

Jockey Tom Berry aboard Driefontein led in a slowly run 2012 Magic Millions Classic.

His ride set it up for the leaders to rule.

Alezan Thunder Luxbet $11 settled on its outside with No Looking Back Luxbet $14 to $10, third on the fence.

Swinging for home Driefontein went wide giving jockey Nash Rawiller aboard No Looking Back ample room to come through.

Near the 200m, Driefontein held a narrow margin ahead of the other duo.

No Looking Back gradually made its way to the front from that point.

At the 70m mark, No Looking Back drifted off the fence impeding Driefontein.

Berry requested to view the footage of the 2012 Magic Millions Classic final 250m as soon as he dismounted.

He was happy enough to let the decision stand but was prompted by Racing Queensland chief steward Wade Birch to protest.

Berry did and cited interference over the final 200m in the 2012 Magic Millions Classic.

Stewards later said if Berry wouldn’t have protested, they would have.

Rawiller admitted to impeding Berry on Driefontein.

Berry told stewards No Looking Back’s actions left Driefontein “quite unbalanced”.

“You could see mine was coming back, she (No Looking Back)  got half a length on me and I have only been beaten a neck on the line.

“I would have won by at least a head.”

Stewards deliberated for a short time and upheld the 2012 Magic Millions Classic protest.

Waterhouse diplomatically remained silent during the hearing but always had a fourth Magic Millions Classic winner in her keep.

The champion trainer had previously won with Assertive Lad (2000), Excellerator (2001) and Dance Hero (2004).

Driefontein by Fastnet Rock and Follow Gold was purchased for just $75,000 by Star Thoroughbreds head Denise Martin.

Sizzling Luxbet $3.80 second favourite was the first Queensland-trained runner home in fourth.

He was stopped in his tracks mid-race and did well to finish as close as he did.

It doesn’t matter how a winner comes about, it is just nice to have one. Luxbet are giving punters every opportunity by doubling any initial deposit ranging from $25 to $400. Follow the Luxbet prompts and enter the code BONUSBET. It takes just a few minutes on-line and you will be as fortunate as Driefontein with Luxbet.

Of $1,640,000.1st $1,140,000, 2nd $300,000, 3rd $150,000, 4th $50,000
Set Weights, Two-Years-Old, Apprentices cannot claim.Track Condition: Good 3 Time: 1:09.49 Last 600m: 0:34.74 INTERIM RESULTS

Offical Comments:Protest 2nd (Driefontein) against 1st (No looking back) – Upheld

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 8 DRIEFONTEIN Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 2 55kg $3.40F
2 14 NO LOOKING BACK Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 0.3L 3 55kg $9
3 12 ALEZAN THUNDER Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 1.3L 7 55kg $11
4 3 SIZZLING Kelso Wood Chris Munce 1.8L 5 57kg $3.80
5 16 MRS GRAY David Hayes Corey Brown 2L 15 55kg $31
6 2 AMORINO Gerald Ryan Jim Cassidy 3L 6 57kg $3.60
7 9 HOSS AMOR John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 4L 9 55kg $15
8 11 DISCREET Kelly Schweida Craig Williams 5.5L 11 55kg $17
9 10 SNIPZU Liam Birchley Glen Colless 6.8L 8 55kg $26
10 13 LADY COLOURS Bruce W Hill Paul Hammersley 9.6L 12 55kg $26
11 1 NOOGOORA BURR David Lawlor Ric McMahon 10.9L 10 57kg $31
12 4 TRAVINO Peter Mckay Jason Waddell 11.1L 14 57kg $61
13 7 PURE WHISPER Gillian Heinrich Damian Browne 12.1L 16 57kg $101
14 6 FUNDIDO Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 14.4L 13 57kg $26
15 5 LITTLE CRITTER Tony McEvoy Jim Byrne 15.9L 4 57kg $71
16 15 LOVE LAUGHING Troy Hall Mitchell Wood (a) 18.2L 1 55kg $101
20e GRAND BUSINESS Norm Hilton  scr 0
21e DOUBTFILLY Stuart Kendrick  scr 0
19e ANTARCTIC DREAM Bruce W Hill  scr 0
17e DEAR DEMI Clarry Conners  scr 0
18e SHAMROCK SLIPPER Liam Birchley  scr 0