Lough Neagh Stakes 2011 Nominations – Doomben Summer Series

December 19, 2011

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

Lough Neagh Stakes 2011 Nominations – Doomben Summer Series

This Saturday the second leg of the Doomben Summer Series will take centre stage in Brisbane with the 2011 Lough Neagh Stakes, a crack list featuring many stakes winners having been nominated for the lucrative feature.

Zero Rock

Zero Rock will be back to defend her Lough Neagh Stakes title on Saturday at Doomben

A total of 17 early entries were taken today for the $200,000 Listed Lough Neagh Stakes (1350m) including the Desleigh Forster-trained Adebisi who saluted in the opening leg of the Doomben Triple Crown when taking out the Group 3 George Moore Stakes (12000m) back on December 10.

After an eye-catching half-length win over the former Bart Cummings-trained Latin News on a Slow (7) track for the George Moore, Shovhog four-year-old Adebisi will now look to add the Lough Neagh Stakes victory to their record and extend their winning streak to three from three for the season.

If successful on Saturday Adebisi could then continue onto the third and final leg of the Doomben Summer Series, the $200,000 Bernborough Handicap (1615m) on New Year’s Eve and attempt a clean sweep only ever achieved before by Natural Destiny in 2006-2007.

“If he happens to win the Lough Neagh I’m not going to rush my decision about his next run,” Forster said.

“I’m not saying yes and I’m not saying no about trying to win the third leg as well.

“But he’d have to back up a week later to go for the Bernborough and there’s always the Goldmarket Handicap two days later.”

The $100,000 Listed Goldmarket Handicap (1300m) on the Gold Coast on January 2 may be worth half the prize money, but the shorter distance may be more suitable for Adebisi depending on what they show in the Lough Neagh.

“I’m sure he will run a mile (1600 metres) but if we went the Goldmarket way he’s only dropping back 50 metres,” Forster said.

Adebisi has had just one previous start over the mile when they finished a credible four lengths away fifth behind Pressday in the Group 1 TJ Smith (1600m) as a two-year-old at Eagle Farm back in June of last year.

“He ran the mile as a two-year-old and he’s more mature and racing a lot more settled since he’s been gelded,” Forster said.

“When records like this come around it’s always tempting but I’ll do the best think for the horse.”

It is shaping up as a supercharged Lough Neagh Stakes showdown this year, the top-rated of the nominees being defending champion Zero Rock.

Kelso Wood’s high performing Danzero mare resumed after a five month spell with a first-up win in the Listed Travel Associates Classic (1200m) at Eagle Farm on December 3, the same race she won last year on way to her Lough Neagh Stakes success.

Zero Rock is also one runner that Forster is very well aware of when it comes to planning race tactics for Adebisi in the Lough Neagh.

“He had too much speed for them in the George Moore so you would expect he’d probably lead again,” Forster said.

“But Zero Rock also likes to lead and if she wants to head him then I’m happy for Adebisi to take a trail.”

It is set to be a very similar Lough Neagh Stakes field to that of the George Moore Stakes with other entries coming via the race including Tony Gollan’s Toowoomba galloper Spirit Of Boom (3rd), the Rob Heathcote-trained Excellantes (4th), Gillian Heinrich’s recent stable acquisition Startsmeup (5th), Pat Duff’s Steel Zip (6th), Sunshine Coast raider Ready To Rip (8th), the Barry Baldwin-trained grey Havatryst (9th), this year’s Magic Millions 3YO Guineas fourth placegetter Celtic Dancer (10th), Keith Noud Quality third placegetter Essington (11th) and the Bryan Guy-trained Shuffle The Cash (12th).

The Lough Neagh Stakes 2011 final field of acceptances is due to be released on Wednesday and will be published right here at Races.com.au.

Get ready for the upcoming summer racing and betting action by opening your online betting account with Luxbet today and be instantly rewarded with a bonus bet valued up to $400 when you deposit and enter the codeword BONUSBET when prompted!

2011 Lough Neagh Stakes Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ADEBISI Desleigh Forster 96
2 CELTIC DANCER Noel J Doyle 86
3 ESSINGTON Darryl Hansen 100
4 EXCELLANTES Robert Heathcote 92
5 FANGLES Stephen Jones 91
6 HAVATRYST Barry Baldwin 88
7 JAZZ HEART Bryan Guy 88
8 LISTEN SON Tony Gollan 100
9 MOSSRIVER David Murphy 83
10 MY DESTINY Con Karakatsanis
11 POOR JUDGE Wayne Nugent 101
12 READY TO RIP Andrew Williamson 89.5
13 SHUFFLE THE CASH Bryan Guy 97
14 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan 91
15 STARTSMEUP Gillian Heinrich 98
16 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff 83
17 ZERO ROCK Kelso Wood 106

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field