Sea Galleon Christmas Cup winner for 2011

December 11, 2011

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Sea Galleon Christmas Cup winner for 2011

Sea Galleon

Sea Galleon wins the Christmas Cup at Rosehill

Victorian galloper Sea Galleon Luxbet $3.10 favourite made use of his turn of foot to claim the $100,000 2011 Christmas Cup (2400m) at Rosehillon Saturday.

Jockey Glyn Schofield described Listed 2011 Christmas Cup as “stop, start, stop, start, more stop than start actually”.

Rival jockey Nash Rawiller had ridden aggressively aboard the Chris Waller-trained Strike One Luxbet $10.

The horse was hunted out of the gates and struck four times with the whip before passing the post the first time.

But the horse couldn’t lead and was caught wide before working to the outside of leader Merensky Reef Luxbet $7.

Just as he did, Scottish Border Luxbet $14 circled the field to sit outside the leader and then both leaders dropped anchor.

Strike One went wide again to avoid the heels of Scottish Border and was a beaten horse from that point of the 2011 Christmas Cup.

Sea Galleon was afforded a lovely trail on the outside, three pairs back from the speed.

At the 600 metres, Schofield  whipped around the field with ease while Yulalona Luxbet $4.60 was pocketed.

Schofield and Sea Galleon had sprinted and opned at three length break before Nextanix Luxbet $10 and Gazza Guru  Luxbet $26 came out of the pack to challenge.

Gazza Guru faded from the 100m while Nextanix cut the margin but never looked like winning.

Count Encosta Luxbet $8.50 ran his typical race with a fast finishing third.

Yulalona was clear in plenty of time but failed to run on in the 2011 Christmas Cup.

Regardless of your recent punting efforts, it is not too late to get on a winning finish. Luxbet are offering to double any initial deposit from $25 to $400 placed into your account. That’s right put in $400 and you will be able to bet with $800. Follow the Luxbet prompts and enter the code BONUSBET when asked. Check out conditions and start betting with Luxbet’s money.

Of $100,000.1st $60,000, 2nd $20,000, 3rd $10,000, 4th $5,000, 5th $2,000, 6th $1,000, 7th $1,000, 8th $1,000, Starter Subsidy $200 LISTED
Quality, Minimum Weight 53kg, Three-Years-Old and Upwards, Apprentices cannot claim.Track Condition: Dead 4 Time: 2:30.87 Last 600m: 0:35.89


Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 8 SEA GALLEON Colin & Cindy Alderson Glyn Schofield 5 53kg $3.10F
2 11 NEXTANIX Kerry Parker Jeff Penza 1L 7 53kg $10
3 4 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson Brenton Avdulla 4L 2 54kg $8.50
4 12 SHADOW MINISTER Garry White Nathan Berry 4.2L 4 53kg $81
5 6 GAZZA GURU Stephen Farley Josh Adams (a) 4.3L 3 53kg $26
6 5 YULALONA Peter Snowden Corey Brown 5.3L 6 53.5kg $4.60
7 7 SCOTTISH BORDER Garry Frazer Mitchell Bell 19.2L 8 53kg $14
8 9 MERENSKY REEF Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 20.3L 1 53kg $7
9 2 STRIKE ONE (GB) Chris Waller Nash Rawiller 21.6L 9 58kg $10
10 10 ASSERTIVE BILLY Steve Englebrecht Shaun Guymer (a) 25.8L 10 53kg $18
1 SOLID BILLING Craig Ritchie Jay Ford 0
3 SCOUTING WIDE (NZ) Tim Martin Taylor Lovelock-Wiggins (a) 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field