Perth Cup 2011 New Year’s Eve Nominations Released

December 6, 2011

Perth Cup 2011 New Year’s Eve Nominations Released

Nominations for the highly-spruiked 2011 Perth Cup at Ascot Racecourse on New Year’s Eve have been released with 41 stayers making up the list of early entries for the year’s final Group 2 showdown.

There has already been a Perth Cup 2011 held on New Year’s Day, but a rescheduled Festival of Perth Racing event calendar saw the classic moved to December 31 from January 1, meaning the 2012 Perth Cup won’t be held until New Year’s Eve next year.

All of the expected hopefuls have been paid up for at nomination stage for the $400,000 Group 2 Golden River Developments Perth Cup (2400m), including the three horses that ran the trifecta in the Listed JRA Trophy (2200m) last Saturday.

Winner Veracious, from the stables of Trevor Andrews, earned a Perth Cup ballot exemption for their bob-of-the-head win over John Thompson’s Sydney-trained stayer Saint Encosta.

The pair will face off again first in the $225,000 Group 2 CB Cox Stakes (2100m) on December 17 ahead of the Perth Cup, as will JRA Trophy third placegetter and Tattersall’s cup winner New Spice , and the Adam Durrant-trained Double Barrel who was less than a length away fourth in the JRA Trophy.

While the top three placegetters from the last running of the Perth Cup have not been nominated for another shot, the fourth placed Western Jewel has.

One of seven entries for trainer Grant Williams and owner-breeder Bob Peters, five-year-old Jeune mare Western Jewel beat home Guest Wing in the ATA last December before being beaten three lengths by them next start when fourth in the Perth Cup.

Having shown promise again running fourth to New Spice in the Tattersall’s Cup on November 19, Western Jewel was disappointing in the JRA Trophy when barrier 14 of 15 saw her finish ninth, still only one and three quarter lengths of the winner.

Williams is also represented in the Perth Cup nominations by his four Group 1 Kingston Town Classic runners from last weekend with eye-catching runner-up Ranger, Battle Emblem (fourth), Tranquility (sixth) and Lords Ransom (seventh).

Ranger failed in the first 2011 Perth Cup at the start of the year when beaten eight lengths by the winner finishing 11th, and is no certain starter again on New Year’s Eve with Peters to wait for the Perth Cup weights to be allocated.

“I’m not sure whether Ranger would go to the (Perth) Cup with his high rating,” he said.

Peters went on to name Kingston Town fourth placegetter Battle Emblem, the veteran improving leaps and bounds on their 13th in the Railway Stakes one run earlier, as the best of the Kingston runners.

“Battle Emblem was a big run,” he said.

“He was a head away from third in a Group 1 at weight-for-age and he’s coming along nice.”

Meanwhile, trainer of New Year’s Day Perth Cup winner Guest Wing, Shane Edwards, has one entry this time in Al Maher gelding Dancin On The Wind, last seen running second to fellow Perth Cup entry Senhor Da Gama in a 2200 metre handicap at Ascot on November 26.

Perth Cup weights are due for release on Tuesday December 13, which is also when late entries close.

The official 2011 Perth Cup final field of acceptance will then be released on Tuesday December 27.

Stay tuned to for all the latest Perth Cup field and betting developments.

In the meantime, get ready to jump on the juicy futures markets opening on the race at Luxbet shortly by signing up with Australia’s premier online bookie, and be instantly rewarded with a $400 bonus bet if you deposit and quote the codeword BONUSBET!

2011 Perth Cup Nominations

Ascot – 31/12/2011

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 RANGER Grant Williams 110
2 LORDS RANSOM Grant Williams 105
3 BATTLE EMBLEM Grant Williams 99
4 GOD HAS SPOKEN Neville Parnham 99
5 KINCAPLE (NZ) Mark B. Reed 99
6 MEGA STEEL Bruce McClune 98
7 WHIPSAW Dean White 95
8 NEW SPICE Elva Van Merwyk 94
9 TRANQUILITY Grant Williams 92
10 VERACIOUS Trevor Andrews 92
11 BIG TED Ivan Haggerty 91
12 DOUBLE BARREL Adam Durrant 90
13 GUM NUT GURU Justin Warwick 90
14 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 90
15 WESTERN JEWEL Grant Williams 89
16 RINGMEISTER Lindsey Smith 88
17 INSURGENCY Garry Delane 87
18 MANILA I SCREAM Adam Durrant 87
19 SENHOR DA GAMA Simon A. Miller 81
21 MISS TIPSY TOPSY Stan Bates 80
22 SMART TWISTER Neville Parnham 80
23 VISCOUNT CAMERON Angela Smith 80
24 TEST THE ANGELS Jeremy Easthope 78
25 PINTADA PRINCE Warren Radford 77
26 MOONLIGHT BAY Grant Williams 74
27 COME FLIRT WITH ME Deborah Murphy 73
28 DANCIN ON THE WIND Shane Edwards 72
29 GRAND APPROACH Frankie Maynard 71
30 BIG JOSH Daniel Morton 70
31 LORVE Matt Daqui 70
32 CARA CARABINI Ben Perace 67
33 FOREVER SPECIAL Grant Williams 65
34 LADYSEA Tony Noonan 64
35 GALILETTO Daniel Morton 62
36 AMBERS KINGDOM Sharon Miller 61
37 EMAHO Sharon Taylor 61
38 AITCHISON Norm Pascoe
39 AMBERLYN Graeme Hammarquist
40 LOPOV (NZ) Simon A. Miller
41 SUPREMACY (NZ) Steven Pinfold

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field