2011 Festival Stakes Nominations – Rosehill Summer Racing

November 28, 2011

2011 Festival Stakes Nominations – Rosehill Summer Racing

One of the key races on the Sydney Summer Racing program, the Festival Stakes 2011 is set to take place at Rosehill Gardens this Saturday with 19 gallopers nominated for the middle-distance sprint.

Chris Waller

Chris Waller has nominated three horses for the 2011 Festival Stakes in Sydney this Saturday

Leading Sydney trainer Chris Waller has a strong hand in this year’s $100,000 Listed Festival Stakes (1500m) having nominated a trio from his stables.

Waller has entered imported Danehill eight-year-old Alexander Of Hales, six-year-old gelding Altered Boy and Lonhro five-year-old Tromso for the feature.

Altered Boy and Tromso have both recorded previous wins at the track and distance, Altered Boy back in July of 2010 and Tromso in November last year, and both are on way to the $175,000 Group 2 Villiers Stakes (1600m) at Warwick Farm on December 17.

“They’ve just got to run in a race like the Festival and whoever runs well there can go on to the Villiers,” Waller said of the pair.

Meanwhile, veteran galloper Alexander Of Hales is set to resume racing after an eight and a half month spell.

Prior to hitting the paddock Alexander Of Hales was enjoying a purple patch of form over the summer in Sydney and they were last seen running second to Saint Encosta in the Group 3 Randwick City Stakes (2120m) at Warwick Farm on March 12.

“He had a really long spell,” Waller said.

“He has trialled very well and he’ll run a cheeky race.”

Waller named the $100,000 Listed Tattersalls Club Cup (2100m) at Warwick Farm on January 2 and the $125,000 Listed Gosford Gold Cup (2100m) 10 days later as possible New Year targets for Alexander Of Hales.

Gai Waterhouse is also with multiple Festival Stakes nominations in 2011.

The highest-rated of all the Festival Stakes hopefuls is her five-year-old Al Maher gelding King Lionheart.

Last seen finishing a very disappointing 15th, beaten 12 and a half lengths by winner Secret Admirer in the Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m) at Randwick on October 1, King Lionheart will look to bounce back on Saturday.

Prior to their Epsom failure King Lionheart won back-to-back Rosehill races including the Group 2 Shannon Stakes (1500m) which was their first black-type assignment.

Waterhouse’s other entry is Thorn Park six-year-old Kontiki Park who won the Warwick Farm 100 Club Handicap (1400m) first-up at Warwick Farm on November 19, a race where they defeated Waller’s duo of Tromso (sixth) and Altered Boy (eighth).

Other notable early entries for Saturday include the Tim Martin-trained mare Fibrillation coming off a third to Kontiki Park, the Kerry Parker’s Group 2 winner Brilliant Light, Catbird five-year-old Monton and Joe Pride’s consistent mare Miss Keepsake.

Last year’s Festival Stakes was won by subsequent Myer Classic placegetter Dysphonia, Peter Snowden without an entry for this year.

Following this Saturday’s Festival Stakes, the off-season Rosehill racing action continues on December 10 with the $100,000 Listed Christmas Cup (2400m).

Races.com.au will provide readers with all the black-type race fields, previews and betting updates throughout the summer so stay tuned.

For the best race betting, avoid the land-based bookies and get a better deal online at Australia’s most reliable bookmaker Luxbet.

Offering customers a second-to-none range of markets and specials, Luxbet also have the best welcome offer of any bookmaker, a $400 bonus bet when you sign up, deposit and quote the code BONUSBET.

Festival Stakes 2011 Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ALEXANDER OF HALES (USA) Chris Waller 92
2 ALTERED BOY Chris Waller 93
3 BRILLIANT LIGHT Kerry Parker 96
4 CHATEAU FORT Paul Messara 79
5 CIRCLE OF POWER Rod Craig 85
6 FIBRILLATION Tim Martin 92
7 KIMBERLEY KID David Payne 85
8 KING LIONHEART Gai Waterhouse 100
9 KONTIKI PARK (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 88
10 LEBRECHAUN Matthew Dale 90
12 MENTALITY Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 92
13 MISS KEEPSAKE (NZ) Joseph Pride 92
14 MONTON Ron Quinton 95
15 TINDAL Wendy Roche
16 TROMSO Chris Waller 93
17 VIVA LAS Neville & Christopher Voigt 82
18 WINNING GLORY (NZ) David Payne 81

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field