Long Wait for Perth Cup 2012 – Perth Cup 2011 To Run New Year’s Eve

November 21, 2011

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

Long Wait for Perth Cup 2012 – Perth Cup 2011 To Run New Year’s Eve

For all those summer racing fans and punters waiting for the 2012 Perth Cup, there is a long delay with the rescheduled Festival of Perth Racing program seeing the classic showdown moved from its traditional spot on New Year’s Day to New Year’s Eve.

This does mean, however, that there is a second 2011 Perth Cup scheduled this calendar year and that there is just over a month to go before the action!

Although only holding Group 2 status, the annual Perth Cup clash is one of the most anticipated features of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival and Perth Cup Day is always a party-themed affair for the race-goers and at-home punters alike.

Running on Saturday December 31, 2011, the second official Perth Cup 2011 is worth a total of $425,00 in prize money and is run over 2400 metres.

Perth Cup nominations close on Tuesday December 6 with the early entries to be published right here at Races.com.au.

This is also the time when the country’s leading online bookmaker Luxbet will open their futures Perth Cup betting markets offering juicy pre-field prices on all of the nominated horses.

Following the nomination stage the Perth Cup weights will then be declared on Tuesday December 13, with Races.com.au again the place to go to view the allotted handicaps.

Late entries for the Perth Cup will remain open until midday (Perth time) on December 13 also, attracting a late entry fee of $8,800.

Finally the 2011 Perth Cup field, the rescheduled 2012 Perth Cup, of final acceptances will be released on Tuesday December 27.

There are seven races on the Australian horse racing calendar that offer a Perth Cup ballot exemption, five Perth races and two Melbourne events.

Three of the seven events have already run including both of the interstate races, the $350,000 Group 2 Sandown Classic (2400m) won by former Melbourne Cup winner Americain and the $125,000 Eclipse Stakes (1800m) won by the Peter Moody-trained Rothera; neither horse continuing onto the Perth Cup.

The third already-run Perth Cup ballot exemption race was the $80,000 Listed Tattersall’s Cup (2200m) at Ascot last Saturday, won by the Elva Van Merwk-trained New Spice.

The remaining races offering a guaranteed Perth Cup start to the winner are the:

  • $80,000 Listed JRA Trophy (2200m) – Held at Ascot on December 3
  • $500,000 Group 1 Kingston Town Classic (1800m) – Held at Ascot on December 3
  • $225,000 Group 2 C.B. Cox Stakes (2100m) – Held at Ascot on December 17
  • $80,000 Listed WA St Leger (2100m) – Held at Ascot on December 17

The first 2011 Perth Cup for the season ran on January 1, New Year’s Day, and was won by the Shane Edwards-trained Guest Wing.

On New Year’s Eve the second 2011 Perth Cup will be sponsored by Golden River Developments.

Stay tuned to Races.com.au for all the latest Perth Cup news, field updates and betting info.

In the meantime, get in on the Festival of Perth Racing action by checking out the odds open on the 2011 Kingston Town Classic, the last of the Group 1 races to run in WA for the year on December 3, right now at Luxbet.

Don’t have an account with Australia’s leading online bookmaker Luxbet?

Open one this summer and when you deposit and quote the promo code BONUSBET, Luxbet will credit your new account with a bonus bet to say welcome valued up to $400!





Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field