Ballarat Cup 2011 Nominations & Weights

November 16, 2011

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Ballarat Cup 2011 Nominations & Weights

While the action of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival heats up Ascot Racecourse over in WA this Saturday, the end-of-season racing continues in Victoria with the 2011 Ballarat Cup.


Domesky is one of two 2011 Ballarat Cup entries for trainer Michael Kent

Headlining an exciting 10-race Saturday program, the $150,000 Listed Ballarat Cup (2200m) has attracted 22 horses at nomination stage this year.

Topweight of the entries is the former Queensland galloper, the now Peter Moody-trained Rothera with 59kg.

The Tobougg six-year-old returned to form last Saturday with an eye-catching one and a quarter length victory in the Group 3 Eclipse Stakes (1800m) at Sandown’s Zipping Classic Day, Moody hoping to send them out for the season on a high with another stakes win this weekend.

Following Rothera in the Ballarat Cup 2011 ballot and weights are then the Michael Moroney-trained Queensland Cup winner Tinseltown and Dansili eight-year-old Illustrious Blue on 58kg, Robert Smerdon’s Queen Elizabeth Stakes placegetter Paddy O’Reilly on 56.5kg and Cranbourne Cup hero Boom ‘ N’ Zoom with 56.5kg.

Meanwhile Cranbourne-based horseman Michael Kent will attempt to go back-to-back in the Ballarat Cup following the success of My Bentley 12 months ago nominating Red Buttons and Domesky.

Seven-year-old Red Ransom gelding Red Buttons was last seen finishing a disappointing sixth to Lucky Eighty Eight in the Kyneton Cup (2000m) on November 2, a race they won the year before after also winning the 2010 Moe Cup.

Domesday four-year-old Domesky showed more promise last start when finishing a nose away second to Musical Hit in a 2000 metre handicap at Flemington on November 5 carrying 58.5kg.

It was a solid run from a horse that only beat home two other runners when 16th in the Caulfield Cup, Domesky sure to appreciate the drop back to 55kg for the Ballarat Cup.

Other notable Ballarat Cup nominees include Brian Jenkins’ last-start Matriarch Stakes runner-up Stole, the David Hayes-trained former WATC Derby winner Chartreux and Pat Carey’s Eclipse Stakes third placegetter Ulundi.

The 2011 Ballarat Cup final field and barrier draw will be released on Thursday morning and published right here at so make sure you bookmark this site.

Get ready for the weekend’s racing action right now by opening your new account with Australia’s ace bookie Luxbet and be instantly rewarded with a $400 bonus bet when you deposit and enter the exclusive codeword BONUSBET!

2011 Ballarat Cup Nominations, Ballot & Weights

# Horse Trainer Ballot Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 ROTHERA Peter G Moody 1 59kg 104
2 ILLUSTRIOUS BLUE (GB) Luke Oliver 3 58kg 102
3 TINSELTOWN (NZ) Michael Moroney 2 58kg 102
4 PADDY O’REILLY (NZ) Robert Smerdon 4 56.5kg 99
5 BOOM ’N’ ZOOM Ken Keys 5 56kg 98
6 RED BUTTONS Michael Kent 6 55.5kg 97
7 DOMESKY Michael Kent 7 55kg 95
8 TEXAN WARNEY Darryl Dodson 8 54kg 92
9 APPREHEND Tony Vasil 12 53.5kg 85
10 CHARTREUX David Hayes 11 53.5kg 86
11 DORSODURO Kelvin Bourke 22 53.5kg 64
12 FLYING HULA Darren Weir 19 53.5kg 70
13 FOXHAM Tony McEvoy 10 53.5kg 89
14 MUSICAL HIT Ken Keys 13 53.5kg 85
15 NIPTIOUS Danny Curran 15 53.5kg 80
16 NOBLE DESTINY Todd Balfour 21 53.5kg 66
17 SEA GALLEON Colin & Cindy Alderson 18 53.5kg 72
18 SEAN BAILE MOR Todd Balfour 14 53.5kg 82
19 SERTORIUS Jamie Edwards & Bruce Elkington 17 53.5kg 72
20 SOVEREIGN RISK (NZ) Fran Houlahan & Brian Johnston 20 53.5kg 66
21 STOLE (NZ) Brian Jenkins 9 53.5kg 89
22 ULUNDI Pat Carey 16 53.5kg 78

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Hobartville Stakes Race D...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 Expressway Stakes nominations

Golden Rose winner Trapeze Artist is among the nominations for the Group 2...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field