Victoria Derby Results 2011 – Winner Sangster Holds Off Induna

October 29, 2011

Victoria Derby Results 2011 – Winner Sangster Holds Off Induna

The headline event on the opening Melbourne Cup Carnival meeting at Flemington on Saturday was the 2011 Victoria Derby, the 157th running of Australia’s oldest classic a rough and tumble affair with Trent Bususttin’s Kiwi raider Sangster going back-to-back for New Zealand following Lion Tamer’s win 12 months ago.


Sangster (green, blue silks with pink cap) holds off Induna to win the 2011 Victoria Derby

It was also successive wins in the $1.5 million Group 1 AAMI Victoria Derby (2500m) for leading jockey Hugh Bowman, the first hoop to go back-to-back in the VRC Derby since Roy Higgins with Dayana (1972 and Taj Rossi (1973).

Coming off an eye-catching second to today’s Victoria Derby third placegetter Sabrage in the Norman Robinson Stakes (2000m) at Caulfield, Savabeel gelding Sangster showed their true staying potential with an excellent effort to hang on for a gritty victory.

Manawanui was the Victoria Derby favourite paying $2.50 at jump time through Luxbet, but there were queries over the Golden Rose winner’s ability to get the distance today and those queries proved valid as they could only manage to finish sixth, beaten three lengths.

When the barriers went up third elect, the Gai Waterhouse-trained Niagara, shot across from the outside gate to lead the field.

In a messily run race at the back, second favourite and last-start Geelong Classic winner Induna suffered nasty interference on multiple occasions, the first of which came from Perfect Punch who nearly pushed the eventual runner-up off the track going around the first corner.

While Niagara held onto their lead, Sabrage settled into second with Perfect Punch moving into third from Cornell.

Finding it hard to steady up, Induna remained towards the back end of the field.

With 1200 metres to go Perfect Punch moved up to second but they, like the leader, would soon be caught.

At the 700 metre mark Induna was racing deep out with some cover, Manwanaui moving up to creep into fourth before going back along the rails.

Meanwhile, Sangster and Hughie were making their move out wide.

Sangster put in their all on the straight, Induna producing an eye-catching run from the 200 metre mark charging towards the leader.

In another close finish, Sangster held on to become the Victoria Derby winner by a head, Induna in a very brave second with the Michael Moroney-trained Sabrage finising off the trifecta one and a half lengths away third.

It was a beautiful winning ride by Bowman who was happy to sit out wide, three deep and to Sangster’s credit the horse was able to snare a Derby.

“I kept a bit in the tank,” Bowman said after the race.

“I was very concerned in the last 50 (metres).

“(But) I knew the distance would suit this guy…he’s done a wonderful job.

“This is the cream of the crop when it comes to racing in Australia and I feel honoured to have won it twice now.”

Today’s winning Victoria Derby trainer Busuttin was over the moon with his horse’s effort today, the galloper now with three wins from eight starts.

“It’s just fantastic, you can’t describe it,” he said.

“We were three deep the whole way and I thought we were no hope at the 600.

“I didn’t want to yell till the hundred, and that’s when Induna came.”

Punters gearing up for the next big spring feature – the 2011 Melbourne Cup – should head to Luxbet today and get ready for the world’s richest handicap by signing up with this Tabcorp-owned and trusted online bookmaker.

Luxbet have all your Melbourne Cup needs covered including a $500 bonus welcome bet to all first-time depositing customers that quote the code BONUSBET, but hurry, this offer won’t last!

2011 Victoria Derby Results & Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 5 SANGSTER(7) Hugh Bowman Trent Busuttin 55.5 2-40.33
2nd 7 INDUNA(10) Kerrin McEvoy Peter Snowden 55.5 0.2L
3rd 4 SABRAGE(14) Damien Oliver Michael Moroney 55.5 1.5L
4th 13 ZABEELIONAIRE(4) Stephen Baster Leon Corstens 55.5 1.8L
5th 2 ISOPACH(15) Joao Moreira John P Thompson 55.5 1.9L
6th 1 MANAWANUI(6) Glyn Schofield Ron Leemon 55.5 3.1L
7th 14 I FEEL GOOD(9) Brenton Avdulla Frankie Stockdale 55.5 9.6L
8th 9 SCELTO(8) Dwayne Dunn Robbie Laing 55.5 9.7L
9th 8 COSTLY COMMITMENT(5) Craig Newitt Mick Price 55.5 11.0L
10th 12 EAGLE COMMAND(13) Dean Yendall Gary Portelli 55.5 11.2L
11th 16 MR CHEZ(1) Michael Rodd Graeme & Debbie Rogerson 55.5 13.9L
12th 11 CORNELL(2) Craig Williams Anthony Freedman 55.5 14.9L
13th 10 NIAGARA(16) Nash Rawiller Gai Waterhouse 55.5 17.4L
14th 15 RAPIDUS(12) Steven Arnold Bart Cummings 55.5 21.4L
15th 6 PERFECT PUNCH(11) Clare Lindop Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 55.5 22.4L
16th 3 COLLAR(3) Nicholas Hall Robert Hickmott 55.5 23.7L
Src 17 MUSTANG Corey Brown David R Miller
Src 18 MONSILI Luke Currie Shane A Edwards

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

Waller contemplating blinkers ...

Waller contemplating blinkers for 2018 Queensland Oaks favourite Youngstar

Trainer Chris Waller will decide before final acceptance time on Wednesday...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field