King Mufhasa Is Toorak Handicap 2011 Winner – Caulfield Results

October 8, 2011

King Mufhasa Is Toorak Handicap 2011 Winner – Caulfield Results

King Mufhasa

King Mufhasa wins the Group 1 Toorak Handicap

Stephen McKee’s King Mufhasa has won the 2011 Toorak Handicap at Caulfield Racecourse today October 8, 2011.

The seven-year-old New Zealand local has travelled to Australia on 11 occasions in the past but until today has been unable to emerge as the winner.

Today’s Group 1 Toorak Handicap win continued the Pentire gelding’s impressive spring preparation, which has seen him win the Group 1 Challenge Stakes first-up and finish second to Jimmy Choux in the Group 1 Windsor Park Plate last start.

King Mufhasa overcame his awkward barrier draw of 11 to hold off a late charge from Peter Moody’s King’s Rose, who finished second, and fast finishing third place-getter Luen Yat Forever.

Trainer Stephen McKee was overjoyed to finally have conquered King Mufhasa’s Australian competition.

“Everything’s gone well today,” McKee said.

“He’s got a good turn of foot.”

McKee is yet to decide on a next race start for King Mufhasa, with the horse’s main spring aim being today’s race.

“Today was the main goal and we’ll have to work things out,” McKee said.

The gelding is not currently nominated for any of the big spring feature races, such as the 2011 Caulfield Cup or 2011 Cox Plate.

Jockey Michael Rodd partnered King Mufhasa to his Toorak Handicap 2011 victory.

“He’s promised a lot coming over here (in the past) and he’s been over here a fair few times,” Rodd said.

“Steve McKee was really confident he was right (this time).”

King Mufhasa overcame an unfavourable start to win today’s $350,000 race.

“He actually slipped at the start and I actually lost a length,” Rodd said.

“He held the comfortably (and) I reckon if they’d have come any closer he would have kicked again.

“(It) shows that he is a class horse and he can run a (good) time.”

King Mufhasa has now won 16 of his 45 race starts and has accrued more than $NZ 2.4 million in prize money.

There’s still time to place your bets on the final three races at Caulfield Racecourse today so open an account with our most trusted online bookmaker Luxbet today and start betting.

Did you know that Luxbet are owned by TABCORP? So you can bet with a company you know and trust while still receiving the fantastic odds a small bookmaker can provide!

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join Luxbet today and for a limited time you will receive a bonus bet worth up to %500 to spend on the spring racing carnival 2011.

So sign up to get Luxbet’s “Best of the Best” odds today!

2011 Toorak Handicap Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 1 KING MUFHASA (NZ) Stephen Mckee Michael Rodd 11 58kg $9
2 6 KING’S ROSE (NZ) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 0.4L 1 54.5kg $4.80F
3 8 LUEN YAT FOREVER Peter G Moody Nicholas Hall 0.5L 3 54kg $6.50
4 3 WALL STREET (NZ) Jeff Lynds Damien Oliver 2.75L 7 57kg $21
5 4 DAO DAO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Darren Beadman 2.95L 13 55.5kg $16
6 5 WOORIM Robert Heathcote Damian Browne 3.05L 2 55.5kg $16
7 7 YOSEI Stuart Webb Ms Michelle Payne 3.55L 10 54.5kg $31
8 13 MAJESTIC MUSIC Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Craig Newitt 3.65L 12 52.5kg $18
9 10 FAST CLIP Gai Waterhouse Glyn Schofield 4.15L 9 53kg $7
10 2 TOORAK TOFF Rick Hore-Lacy Chris Symons 4.65L 4 58kg $9.50
11 11 LORD PYRUS (NZ) Judy Mawer Stephen Baster 5.15L 5 53kg $101
12 12 DREAMAWAY Dean Binaisse Kerrin McEvoy 8.4L 8 52.5kg $20
13 9 TORIO’S QUEST Brett Partelle Danny Nikolic 9.4L 6 53.5kg $12

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field