Sepoy & More Joyous Head Manikato Stakes 2011 Nominations

September 26, 2011

Sepoy & More Joyous Head Manikato Stakes 2011 Nominations

Superstar colt Sepoy and reigning New South Wales Horse of the Year More Joyous top the list of 2011 Manikato Stakes nominations ahead of the iconic Moonee Valley feature to run under the lights this Friday night.


Darley's gun colt Sepoy is likely to start odds-on favourite in the 2011 Manikato Stakes

The $500,000 Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m), won last year by the currently-sidelined gun galloper Hay List, attracted a dozen hopefuls at nomination stage today.

Sure to open as the odds-on favourite in the Manikato Stakes 2011 odds at Australia’s premier online bookmaker Luxbet is the Peter Snowden-trained Sepoy.

Winner of the Blue Diamond Stakes – Golden Slipper double as a juvenile, Darley-owned hero Sepoy is undefeated this season having won the Vain Stakes and Danehill Stakes back-to-back.

They are now gearing up for their open-age debut in the Manikato, Snowden and connections confident that Sepoy has the pace and ability to outclass their older rivals on Friday night in their first official start at the notoriously tight Moonee Valley circuit.

The other big-name Manikato Stakes entry is Gai Waterhouse’s resuming glamour mare More Joyous.

A five-time Group 1 winning daughter of More Than Ready, five-year-old More Joyous hasn’t been under race conditions since mid-April when she injured herself when running 11th to Sacred Choice on a Heavy (10) track at Randwick in the Group 1 Doncaster Mile.

Having made a full recovery much faster than expected, More Joyous showed she was fit and set for a strong spring winning a Rosehill barrier trial over 1030 metres last month and Waterhouse is eagerly awaiting her turf return in the Manikato where she will vie for her fifth first-up victory from six attempts over her illustrious career.

“She is the supreme athlete,” Waterhouse said of her well-built and beautifully-bred mare.

“She is one of those horses you dream about having in the yard.”

While bullish that More Joyous is back to her best, Waterhouse was also quick to give praise to the exciting Sepoy.

“He’s probably the most exciting young horse since Luskin Star,” Waterhouse said.

“It’s the sort of clash you dream about (Sepoy v More Joyous).

“More Joyous is all class and has been there and done it before.

“She has a sexy page for stud already but this will only add to it.

“He (Sepoy) is the champion three-year-old, the wonder boy, but he has to measure up to the older horses.

“She will be there waiting for him.

“What a great way to start a busy weekend.”

Another spruik mare nominated for the Manikato Stakes 2011 is the Peter Moody-trained Kulgrinda, the Exceed And Excel four-year-old having won a 1000 metre sprint at the Valley last month before her last-start fourth in the Group 3 McEwen Stakes (1000m).

Other noteworthy 2011 Manikato Stakes nominees include John Sadler’s last-start Group 3 How Now Stakes winning mare Sister Madly, Group 1 The Galaxy champion Atomic Force, Brisbane galloper Buffering coming off a win in the McEwen and former Hong Kong galloper Happy Zero.

There are four Group race features running at Moonee Valley this Friday evening, final fields for which will be released on Wednesday and published right here at

Be the first to back the Moonee Valley winners this weekend, by signing up with Luxbet now, and if you are a first-time customer that makes a deposit and quotes the code BONUSBET, you can also enjoy a $400 bonus bet on the house!

2011 Manikato Stakes Nominations & Ratings

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ANABAA’S LEGACY (NZ) Dean Binaisse 78
2 ATOMIC FORCE Darren Smith 109
3 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote 109
4 CURTANA Peter G Moody 100
5 EIGHT BILLS Gary Portelli 92
6 HAPPY ZERO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 114
7 KULGRINDA Peter G Moody 99
8 LADY LYNETTE David & Scott Brunton 106
9 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 122
10 RUE MAPLE Darren Weir 90
11 SEPOY Peter Snowden 111
12 SISTER MADLY John Sadler 105

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Te...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Team in 2018 Robert Sangster Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes winner Catchy is set to lead the Lindsay Park Team in the...

Savacool and Sopressa share to...

Savacool and Sopressa share top spot in 2018 Australasian Betting

Last start winners Savacool and Sopressa share the early favouritism in the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field