Black Caviar Star of Patinack Farm Classic 2011 Nominations

September 20, 2011

Black Caviar Star of Patinack Farm Classic 2011 Nominations

Recently crowned Australian Racehorse of the Year Black Caviar headlines the list of 44 sprinters making up the 2011 Patinack Farm Classic nominations, early entries for the Melbourne Cup Carnival feature released by Racing Victoria this afternoon.

Black Caviar

Black Caviar will aim to become a dual Patinack Farm Classic winner this November

Peter Moody’s undefeated sprint queen Black Caviar has officially been nominated to defend her title in the $1 million Group 1 Patinack Farm Classic (1200m) at Flemington on November 5, after her brilliant four length victory in the Emirates Stakes Day showdown last spring.

Black Caviar is set to resume racing in the Group 2 Schillaci Stakes (1000m) at Caulfield on October 8, in which a second straight win will see her equal Phar Lap’s 14-consecutive race wins record.

Despite having the likely Patinack Farm Classic winner in Black Caviar, premier Victorian horseman Moody has paid the nomination fee for eight of the champion’s stablemates.

Joining Black Caviar in the Patinack Farm Classic 2011 nominations for Moody are Beckon, Curtana, Doubtful Jack, Golden Archer, Huegill, Mid Summer Music, Panipique and Kulgrinda.

Of the talented contingent Exceed And Excel mare Kulgrinda is the most notable, the four-year-old one of the top fancies to beat Snowden’s star colt Sepoy in the $500,000 Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) at Moonee Valley on September 30.

Sepoy is the other big-name Patinack Farm Classic nominee this year, the Darley-owned Blue Diamond Stakes – Golden Slipper winner unbeaten this season with back-to-back wins.

There are plenty of other brave and talented horses among the Patinack Farm entries this year but only one international entry in the Saeed Bin Surror-trained Delegator, this being despite Racing Victoria’s much-spruiked Global Sprint Challenge bonus.

Other Noteworthy 2011 Patinack Farm Classic Nominations include:

  • Smart Missile (Anthony Cummings): Boom three-year-old colt just beaten in the Golden Rose, before which they were undefeated, engaged to race at Caulfield in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes this Saturday
  • Crystal Lilly (Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra): One of last season’s most consistent sprinters, the 2010 Golden Slipper winning daughter of Stratum has faced Black Caviar four times at elite level including two game second place finishes. Resumed for the season with an eye-catching second beaten in the final stride by Buffering in the Group 3 McEwen Stakes (1000m) at Moonee Valley on September 10
  • Buffering (Robert Heathcote): Last-start McEwen Stakes winner, Brisbane raider Buffering is being tipped for a big spring where he will be given the chance to face off again with Black Caviar having run third to her and Hay List in the BTC Cup at Doomben during the winter
  • Ilovethiscity (Grahame Begg): Surprise nominee as this horse is being prepared for the 2011 Cox Plate over 2040 metres, Randwick Guineas winner in the autumn ran an excellent second to Sincero in the George Main Stakes (1500m) last Saturday but can’t see them being accepted for the 1200 metres

Nominations for two of the other Melbourne Cup Carnival elite levels were also taken today with the $1 million Group 1 Crown Oaks (2500m) attracting 69 fillies while the classic three-year-olds’ race of the season, the $1.5 million Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m) drew 83 early entries.

First declarations for the Patinack Farm Classic will be taken on Tuesday October 18, but futures betting on the race is due to open shortly at Australia’s favourite bookmaker Luxbet.

Sign up with Luxbet now to get the best odds on Black Caviar and her brave rivals, and remember, if you are a first-time depositing customer to quote the codeword BONUSBET and earn a bonus bet valued up to $400!

2011 Patinack Farm Classic Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rtg.
1 ALBERT THE FAT Chris Waller 106
2 BEADED Peter Snowden 114
3 BECKON Peter G Moody 65
4 BLACK CAVIAR Peter G Moody 128
5 BLACKIE (NZ) Michael Kent 98
6 BORN TO ROCK Michael Moroney 94
7 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote 109
8 CATAPULTED Mark Kavanagh 107
9 CHOSEN TO FLY Colin & Cindy Alderson 89
10 COLUMBUS David Hayes 77
11 CRYSTAL LILY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 112
12 CURTANA Peter G Moody
13 DANLEIGH Chris Waller
14 DECISION TIME Clarry Conners 109
15 DELEGATOR (GB) Saeed Bin Suroor
16 DOUBTFUL JACK Peter G Moody 102
17 EAGLE FALLS David Hayes 107
18 ELUSIVE TOUCH Mark Kavanagh 102
19 EMERALD DOWNS Anthony Cummings 78
20 FOXWEDGE John O’Shea
21 GOLDEN ARCHER Peter G Moody 100
22 GRACEFUL ANNA David Pfieffer
23 HAPPY ZERO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 114
24 HUEGILL Peter G Moody 66
25 ILOVETHISCITY Grahame Begg 111
26 KING PULSE Michael Moroney
27 KULGRINDA Peter G Moody 99
28 LUCHA LIBRE (NZ) Anthony Cummings
29 METALLURGICAL John P Thompson
30 MID SUMMER MUSIC Peter G Moody 102
31 PANIPIQUE Peter G Moody 98
32 PARABLES Peter Snowden 100
33 PINWHEEL Peter Snowden 111
34 RAREFIED Peter Snowden 92
35 RED TRACER Chris Waller 103
36 RESPONSE Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 110
37 SCENIC BLAST Daniel Morton 113
38 SEPOY Peter Snowden 111
39 SHRAPNEL Mark Kavanagh 100
40 SISTER MADLY John Sadler 105
41 SMART MISSILE Anthony Cummings 104
42 SOUL Peter Snowden 96
43 TRIPLE ELEGANCE Chris Waller 106
44 UATE Kris Lees 98


Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field