Smart Missile Spearheads 2011 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Nominations

September 19, 2011

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Smart Missile Spearheads 2011 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Nominations

Spruik colt Smart Missile is the headline entry for the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2011, Anthony Cummings’ star three-year-old set to make their Melbourne race debut in the elite level feature at Caulfield this Saturday.

Smart Missile

Smart Missile will make their Melbourne debut this Saturday, possibly in the 2011 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

The $350,000 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) is the sole Group 1 race in Australia this weekend, making it a must bet feature at Australia’s leading online bookmaker Luxbet.

There were 28 horses among the 2011 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes nominations, Fastnet Rock three-year-old Smart Missile ready to bounce back after their unlucky second behind Manawanui in the Group 1 Golden Rose (1400m) at Rosehill on September 10.

Connections of the progressive Manawanui have opted against taking the three-year-old into open company in Melbourne at this stage of their preparation, the galloper to take on a field of fellow three-year-olds in the $250,000 Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes (1500m) at Rosehill instead.

Cummings has also nominated Smart Missile in a lower-class race at Caulfield this Saturday as well, the $175,000 Group 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude (1400m).

Smart Missile is currently the $4.20 favourite through Luxbet for the $1 million Caulfield Guineas (1600m) on October 8, with Cummings yet to confirm which race they will contest in the lead-up this weekend.

It is a classy list of contenders making up the Sir Rupert Clarke nominees this year with other notable entries including the Peter Moody-trained three-year-old Golden Archer coming off a win in the Group 3 McNeil Stakes (1200m), Peter Snowden’s always honest Lonhro six-year-old Pinwheel, last-start Sebring Sprint conqueror Master Of Design, Cox Plate-bound Toorak Toff, Robert Heathcote’s in-form Brisbane raider Woorim and dual Group 1 winning mare Yosei.

Below is the full list of Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2011 nominations.

Stay tuned to throughout the week for the latest news, field and betting updates on the race.

The best odds for all of Saturday’s races and the spring futures can be found online at Luxbet.

So don’t settle for second best, sign up with Luxbet now and if you deposit your first stakes and quote the code BONUSBET, you will get your initial deposit back dollar for dollar as a bonus bet valued up to $400!

2011 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rtg.
1 ADNOCON Gerald Ryan 99
2 BLACKIE (NZ) Michael Kent 98
3 C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott 103
4 CHOSEN TO FLY Colin & Cindy Alderson 89
5 DANZYLUM Robbie Griffiths 104
6 DAO DAO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 106
7 DOUBTFUL JACK Peter G Moody 102
8 DREAMAWAY Dean Binaisse 102
9 GATHERING John P Thompson 105
10 GOLD SALUTE Mark Riley 93
11 GOLDEN ARCHER Peter G Moody 100
12 I’M IMPOSING (GB) Robert Hickmott 89
13 JUNGLE RULER Peter White 93
14 KNEELING John P Thompson 84
15 LUEN YAT FOREVER Peter G Moody 102
16 MAJESTIC MUSIC Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 102
17 MASTER OF DESIGN David Payne 101
18 MOMENT IN TIME John P Thompson 97
19 PARABLES Peter Snowden 100
20 PINNACLES Rick Hore-Lacy 101
21 PINWHEEL Peter Snowden 111
22 SILVER GRECIAN (GB) John Moore 101
23 SMART MISSILE Anthony Cummings 104
24 TESTASCANA Peter G Moody 103
25 TOORAK TOFF Rick Hore-Lacy 106
26 WIND SHEAR Dale Sutton 97
27 WOORIM Robert Heathcote 109
28 YOSEI Stuart Webb 110

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field