Toorak Toff Late Cox Plate 2011 Nomination

August 9, 2011

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Toorak Toff Late Cox Plate 2011 Nomination

Last year’s Golden Rose winner Toorak Toff has been assigned an eleventh-hour 2011 Cox Plate campaign, the Rick Hore-Lacy-trained galloper the sole late entry taken for the famous Moonee Valley weight-for-age feature.

Toorak Toff

Toorak Toff was the sole late entry for the 2011 Cox Plate today

Original 2011 Cox Plate nominations were taken by Racing Victoria on Tuesday August 2, 189 gallopers entered for the $3 million showdown to run on October 22.

Today late entries closed for the Cox Plate and a number of other Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival features including the $1 million Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) with Racing Victoria taking a total of six belated nominees across four elite level races.

There are now 190 horses heading towards a spot in the 2011 Cox Plate field with connections of Show A Heart four-year-old Toorak Toff paying the $3,300 late entry fee.

Having shown early promise during their opening two preparations Toorak Toff set themselves up as a genuine stallion prospect winning a number of stakes races, most famous of which was the Group 1 Golden Rose (1400m) in August last year.

After running a game fourth behind the Peter Moody-trained Anacheeva in last year’s Caulfield Guineas, Toorak Toff has recently failed to perform at the same level.

Their most recent run was in the Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m) at Morphettville back in May, Toorak Toff finishing a horrid 10 lengths away 17th to Lone Rock after suffering what Hore-Lacy called “travel sickness”.

Still, Hore-Lacy has seen enough in Toorak Toff’s work leading up to the spring to warrant their late entry into the Cox Plate.

Toorak Toff has been back in work since June and as well as the Cox Plate, Hore-Lacy indicated that the $350,000 Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield on September 24 looked a nice race for him.

“He would get a bit of weight in that race but it would be all right for him,” he said.

There is one final chance for horses to be entered for the Cox Plate, final late entries taken on Monday 17 October attracting a hefty fee of $130,000.

Cox Plate betting is already open at the online bookmakers with the now European-based star So You Think and Whobegotyou, who resumes in Saturday’s PB Lawrence Stakes at Caulfield, installed as the $10 co-favourites.

Dual Cox Plate winner So You Think is looking more like a possible runner in this year’s edition with Racing Victoria saying they were optimistic about coming to a solution over quarantine issues for trainer Aidan O’Brien.

“There’s still just a couple of issues to be worked around with the situation that some things (stables) are just too close (at Ballydoyle) but as with Newmarket they were able to be overcome and we remain hopeful of doing so again,” Racing Victoria’s chief executive Rob Hines said yesterday.

Toorak Toff will be added to the Cox Plate odds shortly, so get ready now by opening your account with Australia’s favourite bookmaker Luxbet.

Luxbet have the hottest horse racing odds, early spring markets and also reward all their new depositing customers with a bonus bet up to $400 when they join and quote the codeword BONUSBET.

2011 Tatts Cox Plate Nominations

[risafield risacode=”5019913″ type=”nominations”]

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field