Waller Already Aiming For Back To Back Premierships

August 1, 2011

Waller Already Aiming For Back To Back Premierships

Sydney’s newest premiership winning trainer Chris Waller says he will not rest on his laurels, and is already looking at how he is going to defend his crown of Sydney’s leading trainer.

Chris Waller

Chris Waller now turns his attention to winning back to back trainers premierships

Waller wrapped up the premiership with four winners at Rosehill on Saturday, to take his Sydney metropolitan total to 117 for the year.

“I think being the premiership trainer is something I will look back on. I guess if you offered it to me last year I would have thought ‘that’s great, I don’t need to do anything else,” Waller said.

“But you reassess your goals. It’s just the competitive nature in any jockey or trainer, you don’t really want to run second or third after winning it. Next season it will be the same again – it will be full bore right from the start.”

Waller migrated to Australia from New Zealand eleven years ago, with just a handful of horses. He now has one of the biggest stables in the country.

“We’ve had more runners but it still gives me a lot of satisfaction because we’ve got the team of owners, staff and horses to be able to win premierships which this season has been 117 wins and 117 happy moments,” Waller said.

Waller became just the fifth Sydney trainer to train 100 metropolitan winners in a season, exceeding even his wildest dreams.

“I didn’t expect to win a premiership, simple as that,” he said.

The highlights in the racing season for Waller were undoubtedly Danleigh’s triumph in the Group One Chipping Norton and Rangirangdoo’s emotional win in the Group One George Ryder Stakes. He also continued his habit of getting the best out of discarded international horses. My Kingdom of Fife (Queen Elizabeth Stakes) and Stand to Gain (Sydney Cup) are examples of how Waller has been able to turn around unwanted horses into Group One champions.

While Waller may have trained the most winners of the season, he pointed to Peter Snowden as the man who has had the standout season.

“You’ve got to take your hat off to Peter Snowden for winning all those Group One races. I’d easily swap places with what he has achieved in the last year and likewise Gai (Waterhouse), she has won the Caulfield Cup and still had a great season.”

2010/11 Premiership Winners

City Trainer Jockey
Brisbane Robert Heathcote (62.5 Wins) Chris Munce (79.5)
Sydney Chris Waller (117) Nash Rawiller (92.5)
Melbourne Peter Moody (103.5) Luke Nolen (71)
Adelaide Mark Kavanagh (36) Paul Gatt (50)
Perth Neville Parnham (54) William Pike (80.5)
Darwin Stephen Brown (62) Scott Hillebrand (32)
Hobart David & Scott Brunton (79) Brendon McCoull (98)

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field