VRC Chairman to Resign

May 30, 2011

VRC Chairman to Resign

Chairman of the Victorian Racing Commission Rod Fitzroy was announced that he will step down from his post on June 24.

Michael Burn, who has been Vice Chairman since 2008, has been endorsed as Mr Fitzroys’s replacement.

Mr Burn will be the 20th Chairman of the VRC since 1871.

Mr Burn was first appointed to the VRC Committee in 2003, and his first call of duty was to join the audit commission.

Burn also works as an executive director for the Macquarie Group, where he specialises in telecommunications, media and entertainment. It is understood that Burn has transferred these skills into his role with the VRC, where he has been a major catalyst in setting the strategic and financial direction of the club.

Outgoing Chairman Rod Fitzroy said that Burn has all the necessary skills to be a huge success in his role with the VRC.

“Michael brings a rare blend of commercial acumen, leadership, governance skills and a passion for racing to the role of Chairman,” said Fitzroy

The new VRC Chairman also paid tribute to his predecessor.

“Rod has been an outstanding Chairman of the VRC.

“He has been at the forefront of exceptional growth in the international standing of the VRC and the Melbourne Cup carnival, has overseen the ongoing transformation of
Flemington into a unique racing and entertainment facility, and presided over the successful rebuild of one of our famous track,”

As one of his last acts of business, Mr Fitzroy also announced that Jayne Sturzaker had been elected to the board of the VRC, and will replace the recently retired Peter Barnett.

At just 29 years of age, Mr Sturzaker will be the youngest director of the VRC.

“As a board member, I look forward to contributing to the future growth of the club through leveraging the VRC’s reputation as a world leader in horse racing and further development of the autumn racing festival. I am also committed to the continual improvement of members’ facilities, privileges and rights and being a true representative of members’ and stakeholders’ views,” said Ms Struzaker.

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field