37 Game to be Plated Up with Caviar

April 28, 2011

37 Game to be Plated Up with Caviar

The Black Caviar show is coming to Brisbane with Peter Moody’s undefeated Bel Esprit mare ready to add a 13th consecutive win to her stunning record, Black Caviar one of 38 early entries for next month’s BTC Cup.

Black Caviar

Black Caviar is the top entry for the 2011 BTC Cup

Officially kicking off the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival on May 14, BTC Cup Day is shaping up as the most anticipated Queensland race meetings in recent years thanks to the world’s highest rated horse heading into town.

Four-year-old Black Caviar has broken a plethora of records over her flawless 12 race career to date that has seen her pull in an incredible $3.2 million in prize money.

After becoming the first mare in Australian horse racing history to win five successive Group 1 races defeating a crack field in the million dollar TJ Smith Stakes on April 9 at Randwick, Black Caviar is now seeking her sixth elite level success in Doomben’s $400,000 Group 1 BTC Cup (1200m).

The other drawcard contender among the BTC Cup nominations this year is boom sprinter Hay List.

Trainer John McNair has also nominated Hay List, second to the mighty Black Caviar in a brave TJ Smith Stakes run before storming home three and a half lengths clear to win the Group 1 All Aged Stakes last Saturday, for the 2011 The Goodwood in Adelaide on May 8.

Black Caviar unsurprisingly dominates the futures BTC Cup betting as odds-on favourite at $1.25 followed by Hay List at $4.50

Hay List is also the $2 favourite to win The Goodwood at Morphettville despite McNair not yet confirming his appearance in the feature sprint due to the costs of flying the five-year-old to WA.

Other horses in the BTC Cup markets include Gerald Ryan’s Redoute’s Choice mare Melito ($11), George Ryder Stakes and Doncaster Mile runner-up Love Conquers All ($13), Tamworth galloper Border Rebel ($15) who won a Listed sprint first-up at Eagle Farm last Saturday and the Peter Snowden-trained Beaded ($17).

Also among the BTC Cup nominees are defending champion Albert The Fat who narrowly held off Melito in last year’s race, and recent winner and second placegetter in the Group 1 The Galaxy Atomic Force and Thankgodyou’rehere.

Nominations have also been taken for a number of other Brisbane Winter Carnival features with both Black Caviar and Hay List also among the 72 entries for the $650,000 Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1350m) on May 28.

Moody also took the surprise opportunity to nominate Black Caviar for the $1 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) at Eagle Farm on June 11, the richest sprint showdown in Queensland attracting a total of 147 entries.

There were also 47 early entries for the Group 1 Doomben Cup (2020m) on May 21, 123 for the Group 1 Queensland Oaks (2400m) at Eagle Farm on June 4, 132 for the Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m) and boasting the largest number of nominees was the Group 1 The TJ Smith (1600m) with 173 two-year-olds heading towards the Stradbroke Handicap Day feature.

2011 Smirnoff BTC Cup Nominations

# Horse Trainer
1 ALBERT THE FAT Paul Messara
2 ALL SILENT Grahame Begg
3 ALVERTA Paul Messara
4 ATOMIC FORCE Darren Smith
5 AUDACIOUS SPIRIT Gillian Heinrich
6 AZZALAND Richie Stephenson
7 BEADED Peter Snowden
8 BLACK CAVIAR Peter G Moody
9 BLACK PIRANHA Con Karakatsanis
10 BORDER REBEL Sue Grills
11 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote
12 CARIAD Steele Ryan
13 CULMINATE (NZ) Darren Weir
14 DEER VALLEY Steele Ryan
15 DUBLEANNY Mick Price
16 EAGLE FALLS David Hayes
17 EL CHICO (NZ) Michael Pitman
18 GHETTO BLASTER Gillian Heinrich
19 GOLD TRAIL Gary Portelli
20 GYBE Anthony Cummings
21 HAVATRYST Barry Baldwin
22 HAY LIST John McNair
23 JUST BEEN LUCKY John P Thompson
24 KING PULSE Michael Moroney
25 LIESELE Liam Birchley
26 LOVE CONQUERS ALL Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
27 MARQUARDT (NZ) John P Thompson
28 MELITO Gerald Ryan
29 MILITARY ROSE Gillian Heinrich
30 NEWS ALERT Con Karakatsanis
33 SARGE IN CHARGE (NZ) Liam Birchley
34 SHELLSCRAPE Chris Waller
35 SISTER MADLY Anthony Cummings
36 SNIPER’S BULLET Tracey Bartley
37 THANKGODYOU’REHERE Patrick & Wayne Webster
38 WOORIM Robert Heathcote

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: L...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: Lucky Hussler draws barrier 2

The Darren Weir trained Lucky Hussler heads up the final field for the 2018...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ips...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ipswich Cup

A final field of eleven will line up in the 2018 Listed $175,000 Channel 7...

Weir’s pair puts plenty ...

Weir’s pair puts plenty of quality into 2018 Eye Liner Stakes nominations

The Darren Weir trained Group 1 winner Lucky Hussler and Japanese import Danon...

Santa Ana Lane is the 2018 Str...

Santa Ana Lane is the 2018 Stradbroke Handicap winner

Santa Ana Lane scored his third Group 1 win and successive Group 1 wins with a...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?