2011 Australian Guineas Results – Shamrocker the upset Winner

March 5, 2011

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2011 Australian Guineas Results – Shamrocker the upset Winner


Shamrocker is the 2011 Australian Guineas winner

Shamrocker has produced a huge upset to win the Group 1 Australian Guineas at Flemington today on Australian Guineas Day 2011.

An outside chance, paying a whopping $39.6 at Luxbet, Shamrocker showed great acceleration at the 200m to burst to the lead in the 1600m race where she was never headed.

When the capacity 16 horse field jumped, one of the race favourites Playing God started awkwardly while Eclair Surprise was very slow, falling back to last.

Dusty Star took up the lead from Run For Levi and Startsmeup, while New Zealand filly We Can Say It Now was on the pace.

In the swing to home last start Group 3 CS Hayes Stakes winner Bullbars peeled out wide and produced a great run, but was not able to catch the flying Shamrocker with jockey Glenn Boss.

Playing God managed to get through for third with Mr Chard grabbing fourth. In the end the other favourite, We Can Say It Now, had an ordinary run.

Unfortunately after the race Enjin Number Nine suffered a bleed and will be out for 3 months.

Today’s run was Shamrocker’s second start this preparation, the three-year-old filly finished fourth last start in the Group 3 The Mittys Vanity to Southern Speed where trainer Danny O’Brien says she was underdone. Shamrocker’s Autumn target is the AJC Australian Oaks at Randwick on April 16.

If you want to follow Shamrocker’s autumn racing and bet on the upcoming AJC Oaks then join Luxbet today so you can get paid odds better than the TAB. When you join Luxbet today you can also claim our exclusive free bet bonus offer worth up to $400 when you use the promo code BONUSBET.

Group 1 Australian Guineas Results

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 14 SHAMROCKER(7) Glen Boss Danny O’Brien 53.5 1-35.33
2nd 7 BULLBARS(9) Kerrin McEvoy Peter Snowden 55.5 1.8L
3rd 2 PLAYING GOD(3) Brett Prebble Neville Parnham 55.5 2.5L
4th 4 MR CHARD(11) Steven Arnold Dean Lawson 55.5 2.7L
5th 11 UNDER THE EIFFEL(8) Mark Zahra Tony Vasil 55.5 2.9L
6th 1 ANACHEEVA(14) Luke Nolen Peter G Moody 55.5 3.0L
7th 16 SOUTHERN SPEED(16) Clare Lindop Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 53.5 5.0L
8th 12 ECLAIR SURPRISE(13) Ben Melham Peter G Moody 55.5 5.1L
9th 9 SPIRITED EAGLE(12) Danny Nikolic Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 55.5 5.2L
10th 3 STARTSMEUP(15) Paul Hammersley Bruce W Hill 55.5 6.0L
11th 10 SMOKIN’ JOEY(5) James Winks Lee Freedman 55.5 8.5L
12th 8 DUSTY STAR(2) Darren Gauci Peter Morgan 55.5 9.5L
13th 13 ENJIN NUMBER NINE(6) Damien Oliver Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 55.5 10.5L
14th 15 WE CAN SAY IT NOW(10) Craig Williams Murray & Bjorn Baker 53.5 14.2L
15th 5 RUN FOR LEVI(1) Craig Newitt John P Thompson 55.5 15.5L
16th 6 HOLLOWLEA(4) Nicholas Hall Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 55.5 27.5L
Src 17 GOLDSTONE Michael Rodd Bart Cummings
Src 18 LIVEANDLETDIE Mark Kavanagh
Src 19 ROADTRAIN Tony Vasil
Src 20 ABSOLUTELYAWESOME Glen Boss Michael Moroney

Photo courtesy (c) Taron Clarke Photography

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field