2011 Hobartville Stakes Results – Rosehill Race 6


Ilovethiscity wins the 2011 Hobartville Stakes

The 2011 Hobartville Stakes have been taken out by the late backed Ilovethiscity which jumped as favourite from Somepin Anypin.

Things just continue to get worse for Pressday which completely missed the start and so too probably any chance of an Australian Guineas.

At the front of the field early on it was Audacious Spirit which took up the pace in a battle with Somepin Anypin and Light Brigade in the prime position behind.

That’s how it stayed for pretty much the entire trip until they made the turn for home when moves started to come from the back.

As they straightened Audacious Spirit began to tire and Somepin Anypin briefly took the lead and had every chance but just couldn’t lift the pace.

It was Ilovethiscity which came with a blistering run and ran right past the other runners.

Retrieve tried to go as well but was never going to challenge the leader nor was Skilled one place back.

Ilovethiscity crossed the line by a comfortable margin from Retrieve and Skilled with Masquerader not having a bad run for fourth but still not living up to the hype and disappointing his backers yet again.

From here Ilovethiscity is heading for the Randwick Guineas which is being held at Warwick farm this year.

If the form stays good and the results aren’t bad the George Ryder looks like a good option and a good run there could lead right into the Doncaster Handicap.

Luxbet Results

1st #6        Ilovethiscity
2nd #3        Retrieve
3rd #2        Skilled

Photo courtesy (c) Steve Hart Photographics