Fast Future Wins 2011 Launceston Cup

February 23, 2011

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Fast Future Wins 2011 Launceston Cup

The Russell Cameron-trained Victorian raider Fast Future scored an upset win in the $225,000 Group 3 Launceston Cup (2400m) this afternoon beating home a quality field in the final group race of the Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival.

The eight-year-old Generous gelding showed none of his age and improved greatly on their last start ninth in the Hobart Cup, Fast Future today advantaging from their barrier one draw in Launceston Race 7.

On the line Fast Future had a length to spare over White Yard who just beat home fellow Launceston Cup roughie Geegees Blackflash in a photo finish for the minor placings.

Michael Moroney’s Abitofado was the early leader after spearing across the field from their wide barrier 13, holding on to finish a credible fourth.

One of the top fancies, Dream Pedlar, had a lovely run third on the outside of Abitofadoo and Wallis throughout but faded in the final stages.

Abitofado held the lead until the final turn when on the home straight many of the backrunners moved up to challenge.

Fast Future was ridden to perfection by Jamie Mott, coming up hard and fast on the outside while eventual third placgetter Geegees Blackflash was also given a gun run on the straight moving up on the inside.

Favourite in the Launceston Cup, Bid Spotter was never a threat while second favourite Red Buttons had no luck getting caught three wide throughout.

Fast Future has now won eight of their 52 career starts, today’s Launceston Cup prize money elevating their total career earnings to over $490,000.

Today’s Launceston Cup meet brings the Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival to a close for another year.

But the action of the Melbourne and Sydney Autumn Racing Festivals are just heating up.

The next big autumn feature is the $1 million Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m) at Caulfield this Saturday so head to Luxbet for all the latest odds!

2011 Launceston Cup Results

Finish Horse Barrier Jockey Trainer
1st 4. Fast Future (NZ) 1 Jamie Mott Russell Cameron
2nd 13. White Yard 11 Dwayne Dunn David & Scott Brunton
3rd 11. Geegees Blackflash 4 Daniel Ganderton John Luttrell
4th 5. Abitofado (NZ) 13 Darren Gauci Michael Moroney

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field