Hawk Island Wins The 2011 Parramatta Cup – Rosehill Race 5 Results

February 19, 2011

Hawk Island Wins The 2011 Parramatta Cup – Rosehill Race 5 Results

Hawk Island

Hawk Island wins the 2011 Parramatta Cup

The first Black Type event of the day, the Listed Parramatta Cup, has been won by top weight Hawk Island.

Chris Waller’s Hawk Island powered home down the outside to blitz the field by nearly three lengths.

The race began when Barlagarney burst to the lead and quickly set an incredibly fast tempo.

Gai Waterhouse’s Fusakeo sped to the lead and quickly put four lengths between herself and the rest of the field.

Favourite at Luxbet, Beijing Boy, settled early at the rear of the field and was never able to challenge any of the front runners.

The eventual winner, Hawk Island, was caught in an awkward position without cover for the most part of the race, but found the perfect run 300 metres from home.

Chris Waller picked up the quinella in the 2011 Parramatta Cup with his other horse, Alexander Of Hales, finishing second ahead of the early leader Barlagarney who held on for third.

Hawk Island’s win today continued his winning streak at Rosehill Gardens, which has seen him win 23 consecutive Saturday meetings in a row.

The six-year-old gelding won the 2011 Parramatta Cup in a time of 2 minutes and 0.71 seconds has now won nine of his 28 starts so far.

Don’t miss out on your opportunity to bet on this year’s Apollo Stakes Day and open an account with Luxbet today and quote the promo code BONUS400 to get a free $400 bet.

2011 Parramatta Cup Results – Rosehill Race 5

Pos Horse Margin Price Barrier Benchmark Weight Jockey Trainer
01 1.HAWK ISLAND (IRE) $6.50 3 103.00 59 Hugh Bowman Chris Waller
02 6.ALEXANDER OF HALES (USA) 3.5 $18.00 4 90.00 53 Tim Clark Chris Waller
03 5.BARLAGARNEY 3.7 $8.50 1 91.00 53 Jim Cassidy Graeme Rogerson
04 7.IRONSTEIN 5.2 $3.40 7 90.00 53 Corey Brown Gerald Ryan
05 3.BEIJING BOY (NZ) 7.7 $3.00F 6 94.00 54.5 Kerrin McEvoy Chris Waller
06 9.FUSAKEO 9.5 $9.00 2 86.00 53 Tommy Berry (a) Gai Waterhouse
07 4.HADAAF 10 $21.00 5 93.00 54 Josh Adams (a2) Joseph Pride
SC 2.LARRY’S NEVER LATE (NZ) NA 102.00 58.5 Nash Rawiller Jim Conlan
SC 8.LANG (NZ) NA 87.00 53 Taylor Lovelock-Wiggins (a) Gwenda Markwell
SC 10.ZAUBERIN NA 84.00 53 Dean Holland Russell Cameron

Photo courtesy (c) Steve Hart Photographics

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field